Review: Mizon Multi Function Formula Snail Recovery Gel Cream

Purchased

A little over a year ago, I decided to give the Asian beauty craze a try. My skin had randomly decided to go nuts, and I needed a solution. The idea of trying one thing at a time and creating my own unique routine that was specifically tailored to me just made sense, and the simplicity of many of the products used appealed to me. I fell in love and haven’t looked back since.

The main hurdle remains the huge stash that I have, which built up after quite a few beauty subscription boxes, but I’ve slowly made my way through it, and even though I do plan to make it through everything, I’m also allowing myself to purchase and add in the products that I keep hearing about. My goal now is to first get my routine to where I want it to be and find the product that I’m comfortable with for each step and then (and only then) try other products that I have on hand to see if I like them better. As of now, I think I’m only left with finding a “usual” first cleanser, AHA product, and a first essence.

Mizon’s Snail Recovery Gel Cream was one of the first products recommended to me. It’s technically supposed to be used as a last step to seal in moisturizer, but I’ve been using it as my moisturizing step and so much more. As the name implies, it’s made with snail mucin, which promotes faster healing– meaning it’s great for scrapes and acne. I put it on sunburns, too, instead of aloe. It’s wonderful for soothing and cooling.

Basically, I’ve become this guy, but with snail:

Image result for put some windex on it.

 

Despite the name, this isn’t a cream. It’s a gel that absorbs quickly. You don’t feel it sitting on your face all day. It just feels like really nicely hydrated skin.

This little bit here will spread to cover my entire hand, though I prefer to use more than that if I’m using it for my hands. Yes, I use this on my hands, too!

What this means is that if you have oily skin or sweat a lot, this isn’t going to be a problem for you. There’s hyaluronic acid in this as well as some lovely anti-wrinkle ingredients. Here’s the full CosDNA breakdown.

It also smells like nothing. There’s no discernible scent to it– no flowery or fruity or stinky. It’s just nothing. I’m not complaining, by the way. Just if you happen to get something that is fruity or flowery or stinky, or if it looks differently from a thin gel, or if it doesn’t flow easily from the nozzle (as some people have reported), you might want to consider returning it.

The packaging is pretty simple, a mostly pink tube with an unassuming white snail, and the nozzle is sealed with foil.

Each tube has 45 ml (1.52 oz) of product and is about, well… this big:

Considering how much of this stuff I use and how I put it on everything, it goes fast. Thankfully, it’s a click and 2-day shipping away over on Amazon Prime. It’s also pretty darn cheap. A two-pack will set you back about $10. One of my favorite products, as it turns out, is also one of my cheapest!

Leave a Reply

