Beauteque Mask Maven May 2017 Review

Purchased

Now well into July, believe it or not I’m just now finishing up the May bag from Mask Maven. As I mentioned in my review for the April bag, Beauteque has started shipping out their bags on the last day of the month, so my May bag didn’t arrive until about halfway through June, and my June bag arrived just this week. Add to that, I’m saving reviews until after I’ve actually had the opportunity to try all of the masks.

Each Mask Maven comes with a pretty sheer drawstring bag and a sheet detailing the masks included that month. You’ll get anywhere from 9-11 masks (usually sheet masks, though there can occasionally be some variation) to the tune of $15 plus shipping. If you live in the U.S., your total will come to about $18.95. If you’re interested in subscribing to Mask Maven (or their beauty box subscription), you can do that here.

This month had a floral/botanical theme in “May Flowers.” I’ll be honest and say I’m not a huge fan of botanicals for much other than hydration and relaxing, but it’s not a deal breaker. Mask Maven still owns me.

Wangskin
White Flower Whitening And Anti Wrinkle Mask Pack $2.99

Yes, I giggled because I’m a big ol’ 12-year-old at heart. Now that we have that out of the way, I’d like to say that I do appreciate seeing a brand or product I’m unfamiliar with. That is, after all, the entire reason why I keep this subscription around.

“Whitening,” for those unfamiliar, essentially means the same thing as “brightening” in sheet mask language. This is not a skin bleaching mask. What it will do, on the other hand, is even out skin tone. Things like age spots and acne scars will fade with a good whitening product. (My personal preference leans toward products that contain arbutin.) This contains some wonderful soothing ingredients, like aloe and chamomile. I also notice adenosine among the ingredient list, which has some nice anti-aging benefits as well.

Coreana
2 Step Egg Cloud Mask $3.99

I might not be able to eat eggs, but I still love egg masks, and this came with a bonus sleeping mask (read: thick night cream) to go with it. I love the packaging. For a minute there, I thought it was Gudetama, who I’m in love with. (It’s not.)

The sheet mask part is a foaming mask that washes off, so this isn’t your typical hydrating step mask. I forgot to double check and opened the mask before I realized this. I’d already applied my other hydrators for the night and felt like a total dummy having to reapply them after I was done. That said, I’ve used these foaming masks before and loved them. The foam that this creates is nice and thick and bouncy. I suspect that it’s got a high pH, because my skin did feel a little tight, but I didn’t stop to test it. If I get it again, I will.

There was a lot of the egg sleeping mask provided, and it was nice and thick and felt wonderful going on, but I didn’t really notice much in the way of benefits the next day.

MJ Care
White Flower 2 Step Mask Pack (Soothing) $3.99

This is another two step mask, though this one focuses on soothing and hydration rather than exfoliation. I ended up liking it a lot more than the egg mask.

This one really left my face looking particularly juicy. There was a lot of serum in the mask pack itself, and combined with the ampule it was hydration overload, but in a good way. This thing was on my face for what seemed like the better part of an hour and never dried out. It also wasn’t sticky, and it smelled SO NICE. It’s definitely pricier than I’d typically pay for a mask, but I can see having a couple on hand for an occasional treat.

Beauty Friends
Aroma Essence Mask Sheet Pack $1.99

Some subscribers received the Herb Essence Mask Sheet Pack instead. Occasionally, Beauteque will have variations like this, though they’re usually the same brand and value. The one I received was of the “deep moisture” variety, though I didn’t particularly notice anything more profound that my usual hydrating masks. It felt more like a filler than anything, but it did the trick.

The Face Shop
Real Nature Lily Face Mask $2.20

This was supposed to be another brightening mask, but I didn’t notice much in the way of brightening. I also had some issues with cling under my chin (the usual problem area when a mask does this to me). That said, it was an otherwise nice fit, and the serum was thick and silky. I felt pampered, especially with the light floral fragrance.

There was no stickiness after it dried, which means it would be okay for a morning mask, if that’s your thing. Personally, if I was a morning masker, then fit would be more important because I’d be more likely to be moving around as opposed to relaxing while letting my mask do its thing. But a good fit for me isn’t a good fit for everyone else. Someone else might have a different face shape for which this works better.

Welcos
Jeju Volcanic Island Masks in Green Tea (pictured below) and Camellia Flower $1.99/each

I’ve actually used these masks before, as I can typically find them at my local TJ Maxx for super cheap– much cheaper than the price listed above, in fact. A box of 10 was around $5.99, if I remember correctly, but that’s if you can find them. For that reason, these have been my “super duper cheap filler” option for a while.

These have a nice serum, but the fit is horrible for me. Not to mention, they’re badly folded inside the envelope. It’s like someone just wadded it up into a ball, stuffed it inside, and then stomped on it to flatten. Getting them unfolded is a nightmare. They also dry a little sticky. I use them if I have them and just need something to slap on my face, but they’re not exactly my first choice when I want to pamper myself.

Coreana
Winage Hyaluronic Acid Face Mask $1.99

This was another simple but good hydrating mask with hyaluronic acid. It smelled nice, but otherwise I found it a little boring. Like the Beauty Friends mask, it felt a little bit like filler. Nothing here really stuck out to me other than the fact that it smelled nice.

Etude House
0.2mm Therapy Air Mask – Lotus $1.99

This was a purifying mask made of a breathable material. It really wasn’t my thing. It was thick, but not in a way I like, and the watery essence (though it smelled nice and floral) only seemed a little hydrating. Honestly, I’ve had better fits and results from cheaper masks, so I wouldn’t purchase this, but like most masks I would use it if I had it.

The value of my bag this month comes to just over $23 based on Beauteque’s prices. That’s just over what I paid, which is normal for Mask Maven, though it’s a little higher value than some previous bags. I get Mask Maven more for the curation than the value, so that’s just fine with me. I like trying out new masks. I wasn’t too excited by much of my bag from this month, but it happens from time to time with any subscription. Maybe I’m becoming a mask snob. Maybe I’d have appreciated this month’s selection a lot more if I’d been sampling floral-scented hydrating goodness during May instead of June. Maybe Beauteque needs to go back to sending out their bags for the month they’re intended for… Who can say?

