Sephora Play! April 2017 Unboxing

Purchased

20170418_110641

SEPHORA COLLECTION
Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover Link

This is the second of three items that is included in all variations this month. Sephora has been making a habit for several months now of including their house line in the Play box, and I have no complaints, there. I’ve found some new favorites.

Normally, I don’t really use eye makeup remover because I find that between my first and second cleanser and toner, I don’t really need one. However, Sephora sent me a mascara a couple of months ago that I really liked but has been unusually stubborn to remove– strange for a formula that advertises no budging (delivered) but dissolves at the touch of warm water (not so much). So while everyone else has been griping about how “boring” this little item is, I’ve been itching to try it out.

…and it actually ended up working for me!

I will be buying more of this when I run out.

Smashbox
Iconic Photo Finish Foundation Primer Link

This was the third item that is included in all variations, and this is the item that pissed me off. Sephora, I am disappoint.

I’ve been into beauty boxes long enough to know and experience the fact that every beauty box will eventually send you this item. In fact, I believe this is the second time Sephora has sent Smashbox Photo Finish primer to all of their subscribers in less than a year. I have four sitting around my house right now unopened for two reasons:

  1. I have several other tubes of primer to get through before I get to new, unopened tubes of primer.
  2. I hate this formula with the fiery rage of a thousand suns.

I like subscription boxes for trying new stuff, and this is anything but new for me. Stop trying to make Photo Finish primer happen, Smashbox. It’s not going to happen.

Image result for mean girls gif

This stuff supposedly has a huge cult following, but for some reason every version of it manages to pill badly on me no matter what other products I use. From what I understand it has something to do with me having oily skin. On top of that, this somehow manages to make my makeup look worse and melt away quicker, despite the fact that it’s supposed to do the exact opposite.

I have literally cussed every single time I’ve taken it out of the bag and looked at it in my hand, and I feel like Smashbox owes the world an apology for creating it and attempting to push it on us. I hate this product that much. I don’t care how much I liked that liquid lipstick, Smashbox. You’ve committed an atrocity and birthed an abomination. You should feel bad.

Now, on to the variations!

philosophy
Purity Made Simple Cleanser Link

I had box #583 out of (I believe) four possible variations. Each variation included two out of four skincare items in addition to the eye makeup remover. If you’re interested in the other variations, you can check them out on this reddit post comparing the items included and box values.

My first skincare variant was this cleanser, and much like with the eye makeup remover, I seem to be one of the few people excited to get this. Skincare items take me a while to try out and fully report back on– two weeks on average in between adding a new product. With cleansers, I don’t require as much time for testing, so I can jump right into testing out a new product, and I have time left over at the end of the month to go through more of my stockpile. Not to mention, this advertises itself as an all-in-one cleanser, so I was interested in actually trying this particular product.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that this worked really well as a single cleanse– particularly when I tried it after working a really late shift. I was more than ready for bed, and I was happy to find that this didn’t require any follow up cleansing. Unfortunately, it also has a pH of 7, which is higher than I would like it to be. (I like to keep my cleansers at around a 5 or so.) That explains some drying I experienced when using it, and my skin was noticeably dull when I woke up the next day. I think for an emergency lazy cleanser it could work every once in a while, but that’s not a good enough status for me to want to purchase it. More than likely, this be used as a makeup brush cleanser until it’s emptied.

Peter Thomas Roth
Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Cream Link

This came in two of the four box variations, and this at least seems to be a good product for me. I was really happy with the daytime moisturizers I’ve been sent over the last couple of months, and this would make for another success.

The product is somewhere between a cream and a gel and is absorbed quickly. A little really does go a long way. It’s good and hydrating, as you’d expect anything with the word “hyaluronic” in the title to be, but it’s not at all heavy. Perfect!

I wish I could describe just how wonderful this product feels to use. My skin instantly feels plump and hydrated.  I could easily see myself purchasing a full size of this– if it wasn’t so damn expensive. We shall see… I have a lot of moisturizers to get through before I’m purchasing new ones.

20170418_110503

Miu Miu
MIU MIU L’eau Bleue Link

Sephora Play is that rare exception where I actually appreciate getting a perfume sample in my box. Normally, these things make me fume because perfume samples are notoriously used as filler in sample boxes and are low value. But Sephora counts it as a bonus instead of one of their five deluxe samples, so I’m cool with it, and I’ve enjoyed their selections for the most part.

I liked this one. It immediately reminds me of baby powder, but after a few seconds I pick up on some strong florals and a clean, soapy right-out-of-the-shower scent. It’s strong, though, so I’ll definitely go with fewer spritzes on this, and it’s definitely a warmer weather fragrance. I could imagine it wearing too strongly indoors during the winter months.

This month’s box was valued at just under $30 retail, which is about three times the cost of my subscription. I found the products featured this month to be mostly disappointing, but that happens from time to time with a subscription box, and at least I did get to try some new things. The eye makeup remover and the cloud cream were a hit for me.

If you’d like to subscribe to Sephora Play, you can do that here. There is a waitlist for new subscribers, but it doesn’t seem to operate like a normal waitlist. You basically have to just wait for an opening (pretty frequent, these days) and then sign up. Don’t wait for an email. Just keep an eye on sites like My Subscription Addiction and r/BeautyBoxes and openings will be posted. Otherwise, I recommend creating a bookmark and checking it by attempting your email address a few times per day. You should eventually get in that way.

5 thoughts on “Sephora Play! April 2017 Unboxing

    1. You know, I think it was seeing the eyeliner and the primer that sealed the deal for me on not liking this box, but I was shattered when I pH tested the cleanser. It was one of the items I’d been excited to try, and it worked, but I need to protect that acid mantle, ya’ know? It’s just too alkaline. But the cream was a nice discovery. I wish it wasn’t so expensive, but I’m still tempted to get a full size. And the eye makeup remover.. I definitely will be getting a full size of that as soon as I use up the deluxe sample. I nearly got one yesterday while using my Play Pass, but I ended up spotting the green tea micellar water and grabbed one of those instead.

      Like

  1. Hahah every time I see a sample of Smashbox primer I roll my eyes. Why do all the boxes try to push that crap??? I am with you on it. I mean, it works ok-ish on me but I dont like it enough to ever purchase it again when things much cheaper work better. I like to hear that they eye make up remover is awesome. I am not a huge fan of MUFE either. Very meh and underwhelming with most of their things. The PTR stuff sounds awesome though! I will be on the lookout for a sample to try of that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a really good cream. I wish it wasn’t so expensive, but it’s good enough that I’m tempted even at that price.

      Like

Comments are closed.