Sephora Play! March 2017 Unboxing

Purchased

20170314_142335

Josie Maran
Surreal Skin Argan Finishing Balm Link

Last month, I was battling dog hairs in my pictures. This month it’s fingerprints. You can’t win ’em all, I guess.

This product bills itself as “the first ever antiaging skin care finisher and makeup primer in one.” That claim seems a bit on the dubious side, especially considering that it came in a box with another primer/moisturizer and a third was included in last month’s box. I’m a little on edge about this product, in any case. My skin hasn’t reacted well to Josie Maran products in the past. This is also supposed to be a daytime moisturizer, but it seems really thick and heavy. It might very well become an arm cream before I even get started with it.

Verb
Ghost Oil™ Link

This is the hair item for this month. Honestly, as long as it’s not shampoo or volumizer, I’m probably good. My hair reacts fairly well to oil, so this will be used.

Urban Decay
Eyeshadow Primer Potion – Original Link

I’m definitely no stranger to this product. It’s one of my favorites (though I prefer the anti-aging formula. It keeps my shadow going strong all day like a dream! This isn’t the little four-piece foil packet I’m used to getting when I snag a deluxe sample. It’s a cute little mini! There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ll be using this, so I’m happy to get it, even if it’s not something new to me.

Benefit Cosmetics
Watt’s Up! Cream-to-Powder Highlighter Link

I’m officially one of the twelve remaining women on the planet who hasn’t tried this product from Benefit, so this is one I was excited to receive. All but one of the boxes got this, and there are some strong opinions out there, whether folks love or hate it.

I like sticks, and this is a cream to powder formula with a gold shimmer:

20170314_142744

It was pretty easy to blend out with my finger, but I was surprised to find that my brush worked well with it, too. I’ll be wearing this one to work tomorrow night.

20170314_142213

Atelier Cologne
Clémentine California Cologne Absolue Pure Perfume Link

I always save the perfume samples for last. Like all of the Atelier samples I’ve been sent by Sephora, this was an instant hit. (Maybe I have a thing for oranges?) My only gripe with these is that they don’t stick around for very long. The samples also come with a dabber instead of an atomizer, but it’s an easy enough problem to solve by simply recycling one of my other sample atomizers.

This month’s box was valued at around $30 retail. That’s pretty standard lately from Sephora, and it’s about three times what I paid for it.

If you’d like to subscribe to Sephora Play, you can do that here. There is a waitlist for new subscribers, but it doesn’t seem to operate like a normal waitlist. You basically have to just wait for an opening (pretty frequent, these days) and then sign up. Don’t wait for an email. Just keep an eye on sites like My Subscription Addiction and r/BeautyBoxes and openings will be posted. Otherwise, I recommend creating a bookmark and checking it by attempting your email address a few times per day. You should eventually get in that way.

2 thoughts on “Sephora Play! March 2017 Unboxing

  1. I like Watt’s Up. I ran out of mine awhile back and haven’t replaced it because it isn’t a must have for me…but I certainly enjoy it when I do have it. Glamglow stuff is awesome! I haven’t not liked anything of theirs. Well, except for the price. You feel me? LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked Watt’s Up okay, but I have so many highlighters, and I honestly don’t see anything particularly special about this one. I’ll probably use it, but I don’t see myself making an effort to grab a full size.

      Like

Comments are closed.