Beauteque Mask Maven February 2017 Review

Purchased

20170228_142024

Beauteque Mask Maven is a monthly subscription. For $15 plus shipping (just under $19 for me), you get a curated bag of 9-11 masks. These are usually sheet masks, but they can vary on occasion. It’s absolutely enough to fill up the month for anyone who does two, sometimes three masks per week, which is nice because you’ll always have a variety of sheet masks on hand. Should you find something you like and purchase a bundle of your own, you can skip a month with Beauteque and take time to try it all out without ended up buried underneath a pile of unused sheet masks.

In other words, there’s no risk of running into the notorious subscription box stockpile with this subscription.

Each month includes a card that gives you more information about each mask that’s included as well as instructions whenever needed, and all masks are packaged in a pretty sheer drawstring bag. When I last grabbed my Mask Maven subscription back in September, they were also including a calendar that gave you an idea as to when to use each mask over the course of 30 days, but I didn’t get one this time. Maybe they’ve discontinued it. I enjoyed it while it lasted.

For those unaware, I put my subscription on hold for a few months after purchasing some mask sets from Memebox as well as Amazon. I’m only just now getting through those, and so I figured it was time to get back to it. I’ve missed this subscription so much.

Annie’s Way
France Rose Moisturizing Silk Mask
$2.50 Link

It’s nice to see a familiar favorite. I actually ended up getting two other varieties of this same mask back in September, and I ended up loving them. Now, I’m not as much of a die-hard silk mask fangirl as some. I honestly haven’t had much of an issue with the mask material in most masks. But this was a nice-fitting sheet for me with good cling.

This one contains one of my favorite ingredients– hyaluronic acid. (It’s in quite a few of my masks, actually.) I was slow to warm to the stuff, but since I’ve gotten better with occlusives and purchased a whole home humidifier, I’m seeing some amazing results with products that contain it. My skin needs hydration right now, and this provides.

Purederm Collagen Mask
Choco Cacao
$1.99 Link

Since it’s February, they had to include something chocolate. I don’t mind. I really don’t mind. This is a firming mask that contains cacao extract, collagen, and Vitamin E, and I can’t wait to give it a try.

20170228_142234

Y.E.T.
Don’t Worry Mask Sheet – Heart Beating/Nutrition
$1.99 Link

I’m pretty sure this one was selected for this month due to the packaging. I’m not complaining, of course. I think it’s cute. This mask contains argan oil and licorice root– two ingredients that I’m familiar with but haven’t really used a lot. I’m looking forward to seeing how they work out for me.

Annie’s Way
Rose Essence Jelly Mask
$3.99 Link

Another one from Annie’s Way, and this mask is the oddball out this month. I’ve never tried a jelly mask, so I’m incredibly curious. It’s supposed to include a spatula, and it seems a little gimmicky (read: expensive and usually not worth the hype), but occasionally gimmicky can work out.

From what I’ve read on it, it’s a goo that you spread on your face with the spatula and then wait for 15-30 minutes. You’re then supposed to be able to scrape it off before using a tissue and then rinsing. There is  a version of this that contains hyaluronic acid and arbutin (another of my favorite ingredients), and so if I like the way this mask works, I might feel the need to purchase the other. These also come in full size jars, which is what I’d be more likely to go for with this sort of product.

20170228_142212

 

Natural Planet
Blending Herb Tea- Green Tea & Black Tea
$2.50/each 

I’m already using a black tea toner that I adore, so I know that my skin loves tea. I’ve seen these masks posted and reviewed a few times, so I’m excited to try them for myself.

20170228_142152

Tsaio
Mask Sheets in Advanced Complex, Deep Moisture, and Super Firming
$2.50/each

 

This is a new-to-me brand and one of the reasons why I subscribe to Mask Maven– to try new things that I otherwise wouldn’t consider. These seem pretty standard with some fun-looking packaging. The Advanced Complex mask contains black pearl, swiftlet nest, and natto extract, so I’m thinking this is going to be good for repairing and brightening. The Deep Moisture mask contains hyaluronic acid and aloe vera, so I’m going to likely adore it. The Super Firming mask contains collagen and coix seed along with niacinamide and ginko biloba.

One thing I’ve noticed this month compared to when I last received a bag from them, Beauteque has gotten a lot better at making sure that the masks they include can also be found on their website. Before, I’d occasionally run into something that was hard to find, and it definitely wasn’t on Beauteque’s site, but that might be attributed to them cleaning out their warehouse and moving– something I think they might have been doing last summer and fall.

This month’s Mask Maven was valued at $22.97 based on Beauteque’s prices. (Asian beauty products are all over the map, depending on what you’re willing to put up with in terms of shipping and translation and so on.) That’s a little more than what I paid, but I don’t really get Mask Maven for the retail value. I get it for curation, and paying around $2/mask is within what I’d normally pay anyway.

I can’t say enough how much I adore this subscription. Considering how larget the selection is in the Asian beauty market, it’s nice to occasionally get some new things to try out and to have some variety, and this is a great way to pace it out.

One thought on “Beauteque Mask Maven February 2017 Review

Comments are closed.