Sephora Play! December 2016 Unboxing

Purchased

If you’re like me and have subscribed to a fair number of beauty boxes, you’ve probably got a small army of dry shampoo samples, so getting more dry shampoo doesn’t interest me much. In fact, I’ve been using these as a daily makeup brush cleaner to get through them faster. That said, taking a small can of dry shampoo with me probably isn’t the worst idea to freshen up my hair mid-shift, and this stuff smells nice, so it’ll do. I don’t purchase expensive dry shampoos, though. It’s not something I consider to be worth the price. I am, however, intrigued by the dry conditioner. I didn’t know this was a thing, and I might be picking one up out of curiosity.

20161230_161857.jpg

MAKE UP FOR EVER
Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primer Link

I have so many primers from subscription boxes that I can’t remember the last time I bought one, but I will be needing a good one. This one appears to be of the “pore filler” variety. So far I’ve had good luck with those. I might actually pair this with my BECCA Backlight primer (also discovered through Sephora Play) because for New Year’s I’m going to want to have a bit of a glow, and I find these to be a little too mattifying. Also, for those unaware, yes you can layer and even mix primers.

20161230_161912.jpg

Bobbi Brown
Smokey Eye Mascara Link

One of the things I’ve loved so far about my Sephora Play subscription is that they’ve managed to send me a new mascara every three months or so, which means I have a new mascara just as I’m tossing out an old one. This is one I haven’t tried yet, and it’s also half the size of a full-size mascara. That’s a nice changeup from the usual samples I get. (As much as I love Benefit’s They’re Real mascara, I’ve gotten it about a gazillion times, now.) I won’t be using this for New Year’s Eve, since I have my Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara already opened and ready to go, but this will definitely come in handy.

20161230_161954

SEPHORA COLLECTION
Cream Lip Stain in Always Red Link

I kinda feel like, with as inexpensive as the Sephora Collection products are, they could include full sizes of many of their products. That said, I really like this formula. I’m not sure about the color (swatched below). I can pull off a red lip like it’s nobody’s business, though I’m feeling more like big, sparkly eyes on New Year’s. The red lip might have to wait for my birthday or Valentine’s Day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The mess up on the lip swatch was totally my bad. It’s actually pretty easy to apply, but I was in a hurry and bumped my elbow while doing it. This is kind of a combination matte liquid lipstick and stain. I feel like it’s comfortable to wear, on par with the NYX liquid lippies, and there’s minimal transfer. It dried quickly, so I wasn’t standing there for several seconds wondering if my lips were going to stick together. It does leave behind a nice stain, and it lasted several hours.

20161230_161803.jpg

Urban Decay
All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray Link

I love Urban Decay’s De-Slick setting spray. It’s one of those things in my collection that I must have at all times. It’s done a good job of keeping me pretty slick-free, and it’s one of the few setting sprays that I find works in keeping my makeup going longer. I haven’t tried the All Nighter spray, and it claims to keep your makeup lasting for up to 16 hours, so I look forward to seeing how it performs.

One trick someone showed me with this stuff… Don’t just put it on over your makeup. Spritz a little bit on under your makeup, too. It really seems to work for me.

 

20161230_162211.jpg

Elizabeth and James
Nirvana Bourbon Link

Sephora includes a bonus fragrance sample each month, and though I’m not a perfume gal, I’ve really come to look forward to these. Elizabeth and James, for those who don’t know, is a fashion company started by the Olsen Twins (A.K.A. Michelle Tanner).

giphy

 

This scent has a nice, warm vanilla scent to it and so is pretty versatile and inoffensive. Normally I don’t like tuberose, but it seems to work here.

This month’s box was valued at around $36 retail, which is a little over three times what I paid for the box. I have no complaints. I’ll use everything here.

If you’d like to subscribe to Sephora Play, you can do that here. Be warned… There is a wait for new subscribers. That said, they seem to open up subscriptions pretty frequently, so my best advice is to bookmark the page and try entering your email address a couple of times per day. You should eventually find a window.

