Sephora Play! November 2016 Unboxing

Purchased

You also get an insert with more information about the items included, and the products all come in a drawstring canvas bag designed specifically for that month. Personally, I could do without the bag, but it’s a nice bonus. If you’ve got things that need organizing (like charging cables), these tend to be a nice place to stash them.

I always wondered what all the hype was about regarding the GLAMGLOW masks, and then I finally tried SUPERMUD. Yes, it’s definitely worth the hype, but this stuff is ex-pen-sive. I’ve never tried the THIRSTYMUD treatment, but I’m stoked to get anything from GLAMGLOW in my bag. As tiny as the sample is, it actually manages to pay for my Play subscription twice over, and I can definitely get several applications out of this teensy tube.

Our drought is coming to an end, thankfully, but it’s getting colder. That means I’m going to be cranking up the gas heat, which is just as unbearably dry. This will be nice to have and try out maybe as an overnight mask.

Caudalie
Vinosource Moisturizing Sorbet Link

I’ve tried products from Caudalie before and loved them, so I think I’m going to like this one, too. This is a lightweight moisturizer that absorbs super quick, so even though I typically don’t wear a daytime moisturizer and instead go with a BB or sunscreen, I might give this a go in the mornings. I don’t know how well this will match with my winter skin needs, but I’ll definitely be using this at night in the summertime if nothing else.

20161205_193924.jpg

These were the makeup products…

COVER FX
Illuminating Primer Link

I already have another sample of this which I haven’t had a chance to try out. I’m currently using up my BECCA illuminating primer, which I adore. I’m a fan of COVER FX, though, and I expect this to be a favorite. It’s nicely lightweight like the BECCA primer and has a similar texture and subtle glow. That tells me that this can be worn either under or over makeup. (I like mixing these illuminating primers in with my under-eye concealer.) It’s also silicone-free, which means it’ll likely play nice with my other products.

Laura Mercier
Caviar Stick Eye Colour in Rose Gold Link

I think the only Laura Mercier product that I have so far is a lipstick. It’s a good lipstick, but I think I’m so stuck on my beloved Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche lipsticks right now that I barely give a glance to any of my others. This is a cream eyeshadow stick. I’m a little hesitant because I have rotten luck with these. They just don’t seem to last on my oily eyelids, even with sealing products and primer, and they crease horribly. We’ll give it a go and see. The color is gorgeous (swatched below), so fingers crossed…

SEPHORA COLLECTION
Ultra Shine Lip Gel Link

I love Sephora’s lip gloss formula. It’s hydrating and not at all sticky. I already have three, and this is a nice and compact size that I can just keep in my purse. The color looks really bright, but it’s super sheer and easy to wear.

Here are the swatches…

20161205_185440

I actually swatched the COVER FX primer just above the eyeshadow stick, and you can just barely catch the glow from it.

20161205_185503

MAISON MARGIELA
’REPLICA’ Lipstick On Link

Sephora includes a bonus fragrance sample each month, and though I’m not a perfume gal, I’ve really come to look forward to these. I don’t know that this is my favorite fragrance. It almost feels a little “old” for me, but it still manages to work. The vanilla definitely stands out, and I’m also reminded of baby powder a little bit.

 

This month’s box was valued at around $66 retail– not bad for a $10 subscription! I’ll use everything here, and I don’t feel overwhelmed. Sephora seems to send just enough product each month for me to handle.

If you’d like to subscribe to Sephora Play, you can do that here. Be warned… There is a wait for new subscribers. That said, they seem to open up subscriptions pretty frequently, so my best advice is to bookmark the page and try entering your email address a couple of times per day. You should eventually find a window.

