Sephora Play! October 2016 Unboxing

Purchased

Much like my Memebox order, this month’s Sephora Play also went through some bumps here and there. After a full week of waiting for it to arrive with no updates on the tracking information, UPS straight up told me that it had been lost. Since Sephora doesn’t have extra boxes laying around to send, that meant that I wasn’t going to get October’s box. I called up Sephora’s CS and explained the situation, and they promptly issued me a discount. Two days later, the box mysteriously arrived.

I called Sehpora and told them as much. They’re letting me keep the box and not re-charging me for it, which is swell. I’m tickled pink, since there were a couple of items here that I was looking forward to trying out.

Sephora Play is just $10/month for five deluxe samples and one bonus perfume sample. As you might guess, the box includes items sold at Sephora stores. The samples can be tiny, but if you’re a Sephora shopper, they’ll include brands you might actually be inclined to buy. If you’re interested in signing up, you can click here to do so. Yes, there’s a waitlist, but you do see them open this up quite frequently these days. Just keep an eye out and keep trying, and you should eventually find a window.

This month’s theme was “The Cool Cut” and is supposed to include “breakthrough formulas, indie brands and products that truly stand out from the crowd.”

20161027_211455

Each box comes with a drawstring canvas bag unique to that month as well as an insert detailing each item included and the Sephora Play Pass. You’ll find lots of great tips on how to use everything included, and more tips are to be found on the Sephora Play website. The Play Pass is particularly of interest to Sephora shoppers, as you can take it into the store with you, get help with the products included in your subscription, and receive an extra 50 points to your Beauty Insider account with any purchase! This makes it one of my top choices for anyone who is new to makeup or still learning, but seasoned pros should enjoy this as well.

Smashbox
Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick in Driver’s Seat Link

 

I had to guess at the retail value of this sample, since it didn’t indicate a product weight. I’d guess it’s about 1/4 of a full size, so I’m going to guesstimate around $6. That doesn’t suck.

I’m not a huge fan of liquid lipsticks because very few of them impress me. They’re a drying pain in the ass to wear. I can’t stand how they feel on my lips. This formula appears to be one of the exceptions to that rule. The applicator is designed to dispense the perfect amount of product, which I love, and it went on easy peasy. While I could tell that the product was drying on my lips, it remained comfortable, and the color was absolutely gorgeous (swatched above). It’s the most comfortable matte liquid lipstick I’ve ever worn, even compared to Nyx’s formula. It also left a stain on my arm after I swatched it, which is annoying but tells me that this is going to stick around for a while.

The Estée Edit
Flash Photo Gloss Link

This gloss goes on clear but has a very subtle blue tint to it. Supposedly, the blue tint makes your teeth look whiter in pictures, and this gloss can be worn either alone or over a lipstick. It has a nice consistency that isn’t too sticky, and there’s no discernible taste or smell for me.

Farmacy
Skin Dew Hydrating Essence Mist & Setting Spray Link

This stuff smells SO GOOD!

I’ve only recently gotten into facial mists, and I don’t use them a lot, but I do use them on occasion– particularly when my state is going through a drought. This will come in handy. That said, the full size is a little pricier than I’m used to shelling out for a mist, so I’m not so sure I’ll be purchasing it.

 

Drunk Elephant
T.L.C. Framboos™ Glycolic Night Serum Link

I love me some serum, but this contains glycolic acid (and AHA) for exfoliation, so I’m wondering how it’s going to mingle with my other products. I’m not currently using an AHA product, so that might make things easier. We’ll see…

This goes on as a clear gel, feels nicely hydrating, and a little apparently goes a long way. When I tested it on my arm, a small pea-size amount covered my whole forearm and would be more than enough to cover my face.

 

Madam C.J. Walker Beauty Culture
Scent & Shine Coconut Oil Link

When I first saw this, I thought it was ridiculous. I purchase coconut oil in my grocery store for a fraction of the price this is going for. Then I opened the box… I’m still thinking that. At least they added an “essential oil blend” for fragrance… I’ll use it because I already use hair oil, but I’m definitely not going to be purchasing this.

DEREK LAM 10 CROSBY
Silent St. Link

I’m loving this month’s scent, even if I almost never purchase the featured fragrance. (I don’t use perfume enough to need to purchase one. I just keep getting enough samples to keep me stocked up for when I do wear perfume. This one is nice and musky, a change up from the sweet, fruity scents that have been featured over the spring and summer months.

This month’s box was valued at around $40 retail, and I’ll definitely use everything here. No complaints, and I’m definitely looking forward to whatever Sephora sends me in November!

2 thoughts on “Sephora Play! October 2016 Unboxing

  1. I have seen that Drunk Elephant brand everywhere lately. I wouldn’t purchase expensive coconut oil either! Why??? I am like that with Argan oil too. I can get a huge bottle of organic at Whole Foods for $40 less than the brand everyone else raves about. That lipstick sounds good! I am cancelling my Allure and going to try to get this instead!

    Like

    1. This does have a waitlist, so I would keep the Allure for now if you like it– at least until you get off of the waitlist for Sephora.

      Like

Comments are closed.