Beauteque Mask Maven August 2016 Review

Purchased

Beauteque Mask Maven Subscription

Mask Maven is a monthly subscription from online Asian beauty retailer Beauteque. Each month you get 9-11 masks, usually sheet masks but occasionally other kids, for $15 + shipping ($18.95 total). It’s not a great deal when it comes to retail value. Usually you’ll end up simply breaking even or maybe a bit better. This one is all about curation and introducing yourself to new brands and products. Considering how new I am to Asian beauty and how deep the sheet mask rabbit hole goes, this is right up my alley.

I started this back in June right after I decided to end a few other subscriptions due to product overload. There were two reasons why this one made the cut:

  1. I go through masks pretty regularly, using 2-3 per week minimum. So 9-11 masks per month is going to be easy for me to use up before my next bag arrives.
  2. It’s skippable. If I do find myself overwhelmed or want to try a specific mask set, I can simply go into my account settings and skip that month, keeping my personal mountain of sheet masks at a reasonable elevation.

And in fact I did use the option to skip back in July so that I could get a Memebox mask set and some TONYMOLY Pureness 100 masks instead. I’m still finishing up the Memebox masks, but I figured getting the August and September bags should be fine.

Each month, Beauteque includes an information card, which tells you a little bit about each mask and gives instructions on how to use them– especially handy when instructions are written in Korean. They also include a pretty iridescent purple drawstring bag, which I love. Normally, I’m a little overwhelmed by all the bags I get from subscription services, but these are actually really pretty and versatile, and I can use them for gifts.

Saference
H+W Skin-RX Moisturizing Mask
$2.39 Link

Hyaluronic acid isn’t new, but it seems to be all the rage right now. Everyone’s going on about it, and with good reason. It’s great for adding hydration. The way it works, it attracts water to it. Ideally, that moisture comes from the air around you and is absorbed into your skin, so if you’re living in an area that’s particularly humid right now (like I am), this is going to be spectacular. The downside is that if you’re in a particularly dry environment, then you might find HA to be drying because it starts to pull moisture from your skin. Because of this, I’m a little more careful with using HA during the winter months when we’re using gas heat, and you absolutely should follow up with a good occlusive moisturizer to seal everything in regardless

Missha
Real Solutions Tencel Sheet Mask – Ceramide
$3.25 Link

Missha is a brand I’m already familiar with. Subscribers this month got this mask in either Ceramide (Soothing) or Collagen (Total Care). I got the Ceramide mask, which is anti-wrinkle (good) and brightening (good). I’ve never used this particular mask, but according to Beauteque’s website this is a hydrogel mask, which typically means it’ll be a bit pricier. I usually expect to pay upwards of $4-6 for these, depending on where I’m shopping and what brand I’m getting. My issue with hydrogels, though, is that while I love the feel of wearing them and the effects, I absolutely hate the battle of actually getting them on my face. Sometimes it’s worth the battle. Sometimes not. We’ll see. Beauteque’s price of $3.25 seems reasonable enough if I want more.

 

Beauty Friends
Coenzyme Q10 Essence Mask Sheet Pack
$1.00 Link

This, like the other Beauty Friends mask, is regularly priced at $1.90, but it’s currently on sale for $1, so that’s the price I’m listing. I do love my cheap masks, considering how often I use them. Subscribers received this in either Coenzyme Q10 or Pomegranate Essence.

Beauty Friends
Vitamin Essence Mask Sheet Pack
$1.90 Link

Subscribers received either this or Royal Jelly. I’ll be honest, as a bee fanatic, I’d have preferred the Royal Jelly, but I won’t complain about Vitamin E, either.

 

Yadah
Honey Moisturizing Mask Pack
$1.99 Link

Yadah
Cactus Soothing Mask Pack
$2.49 Link

First off, I love the cute packaging here. Remember how I said I’m a bee fanatic? This honey mask isn’t likely to last long in my collection. I love honey. Cactus is good for soothing (think aloe), so I’m sure to enjoy these.

Dr. Jart+
Vital Hydra Solution Mask
$4.99 Link

Dr. Jart+ is a brand I already know, love, and respect. One of my favorite items in my skincare routine is my TransFoam Clay – Green mask, and I look forward to using its tingly goodness. I’ve used this particular mask before, too, and it’ll be ripped open in the very near future.

It’s Skin
Cream Mask Sheet-Glow
$2.50 Link

I don’t think I’ve used a cream mask before, so this will be interesting indeed. I’m looking forward to ripping this one open.

 

Etude House
Sunshine in Spoon Scrub Massage Yogurt – Sugar Apple
$2.40 Link

Bags this month included a mystery mask, and this one was mine. Honestly, I don’t really consider this to be a mask but rather a scrub. I don’t know that I’ll get much use out of it, either. My chemical exfoliation seems to be doing the trick for me, so I’m not sure that I need a physical exfoliant. I’m going to give my routine a few weeks without one and see how it goes. If I don’t, then this might be going into my gifting pile.

For what it’s worth, this product seems to get rave reviews. This was the one item, however, that was a little tricky to find. Beauteque does have a nasty habit of including items that they don’t sell themselves, and then I have the task of trying to find it elsewhere.

I came up with a total value of around $22, which was slightly more than what I paid, but pricing in Asian beauty products really does vary, so you’re likely to find all of this at different prices elsewhere, some with free shipping and others without it. But again… This subscription is really more about curation than value for me. In the end, I pay roughly $2 per mask, and that’s acceptable to me. I adore the curation here, and I’m really looking forward to trying some of these out.

 

One thought on “Beauteque Mask Maven August 2016 Review

Comments are closed.