Walmart Beauty Box: Summer 2016 Review

Purchased

For those unfamiliar, Walmart has a quarterly beauty subscription box for the low low price of $5 per box. (Technically the samples are free and the $5 is for shipping.) While it’s really not the most exciting boxes out there, it’s definitely a good value, and much like the Target box it usually includes things you’re likely to actually buy and use. There are two varieties: Trendsetter and Classic. You can pick which you want at signup. (I get one of each.) If you’re interested in signing up, you can do so by clicking here.

Summer 2016 Trendsetter Box

Before I get started, I should mention the coupons and foil samples…

They’re not much, but each box usually has at least one or two. This box contained a foil sample of Nivea In-Shower Body Lotion (which I’m not so much a fan of but will use up) with a $1 off coupon and the cutest teeny tiny sample of my beloved Simple Micellar Cleansing Water that you ever did see.

Goody
SlideProof Spiky Soft Touch Hair Elastics, Faded Pastel, 8 count
Link

I live off of putting my hair into ponytails, and that extends to my daughter’s hair, so elastics are always welcome.

Coconut Nail Art by Incoco
Nail Polish Strips, Fashion Statement, 12 count
Link

You know, as many of these as I’ve gotten, I’ve never actually TRIED nail polish strips. I probably should…

Schwarzkopf Essence UltIme
Diamond Color & Radiance Shampoo & Conditioner
Link (Shampoo) Link (Conditioner)

These will likely be used by my daughter and not me. I use conditioner but not shampoo, and since they go together I’ll just pass them on to her.

Arm & Hammer
Truly Radiant Clean Mint Fluoride Anticavity Toothpaste
Link

Toothpaste… Always welcome. I don’t think I’ve had to buy toothpaste in years thanks to subscription boxes, and this is a nifty travel size sample.

Lady Gaga
Fame Perfume Sample
Link

I’ve gotten this before from Walmart. I don’t really care for it anymore than I did the first time, but it’s not repulsive, so I might toss it in my purse if I have nothing else.

Vaseline Intensive Care
Advanced Repair Unscented Lotion
Link

Another repeat, but this one is something I actually enjoy using. I have a lot of body lotion on hand, but if I run out this is one of the formulas on my repurchase list.

Sally Hansen
Airbrush Legs Medium Leg Makeup
Link

I first noticed this on Influenster, but I’ve never tried it. I’ve wanted to out of curiosity, and now I guess I’ll get a chance. I’ve heard rave reviews from a few people, so I’m wondering if this could be a nifty solution to my blindingly pale legs during shorts season. Also, Walmart actually sells this size, so there’s no guessing on the value.

Here’s a breakdown of the value:

Summer 2016 Classic Box

As with the Trendsetter box, the Classic box included coupons and foil samples.

Actually, I got MORE foils and coupons with this box, but nothing particularly exciting. I’ll use everything here, but only the micellar water is an item I’d actually purchase, and there’s no coupon included for that. As with the other foil pack, this includes a $1 off coupon for the Nivea In-Shower Body Lotion.

Jergens Natural Glow
Daily For Fair to Medium Skin Tones Moisturizer Link

I must have gotten this dozens of times from subscription boxes, and I haven’t fallen in love with it yet. I’ll use it, but I’m not buying it.

Caress
Mystique Forever Body Wash Link

This body wash sits in the same predicament as the Jergens. I’ll use it, but I’m not making a special effort to buy it.

Stop trying to make fetch happen.

Pantene Pro-V
Extra Strong Hold Hair Spray Link

Here’s another one I’ve gotten multiple times, except I actually pretty much hate this product. It’s stickier than most on my hair, and it smells horrible. This instantly went into my donate pile.

Tom’s Of Maine
Simply White Clean Mint Fluoride Toothpaste Link

FINALLY, here’s a product I would actually buy! In fact, I have bought Tom’s for my daughter. I’ve never tried their sensitive teeth formula, so I’m actually looking forward to trying a toothpaste, for once.

Burt’s Bees
Milk and Honey Body Lotion Link

I feel like I’m finally getting to the good stuff in my classic box. Burt’s Bees is almost always a hit with me, and I love this lotion and absolutely would purchase it.

Swisspers
Blotting Paper Link

I have oily skin, particularly on very hot days. With summer just getting started and Alabama feeling like two steps from hell, these will come in handy. Oh, and it’s a full size!

So here’s a breakdown on the value of my Classic box:

As you can see, there’s not as much value there for this box, but I do feel like the Trendsetter box made up for it a bit. That said, I’ve gotten better, more useful boxes from Walmart in the past, and this was just one variation. (Other possible samples included Degree and Dove antiperspirant, Aveeno lotion, Pure Silk shaving gel, Dove body wash, false eyelashes, and a St. Ives scrub.) It’s kind of a hit or miss with Walmart, but for a combined value of $22.52 I feel like I got my $10 back at the very least.

