Skincare Diary: June 2, 2016

I’ve been getting a lot of sleep, and that’s definitely helped. I can also immediately tell a difference after making sure I’m getting enough water. Dehydration is brutal.

AM

  1. Proactiv Cleanser
  2. Proactiv Toner (5 minutes)
  3. Living Nature Manuka Honey Gel
  4. e.l.f. Acne Fighting Gel to blemishes
  5. Caudalie Premier Cru Eye Cream
  6. Belif The True Cream Moisturizing Bomb
  7. COOLA Classic Sunscreen Cucumber Moisturizer

This morning, I’m noticing a few flakes and SOME oil, but not a slick, which is good. It seems my oil production is under control for now without being overly dry, and the retinol/AHA from last night is doing it’s job. I wanted to buff some of that away, and nothing seemed irritated, so I snuck in an exfoliating cleanser and skipped the BP treatment since the cleanser had BP in it.

Looking back, the extra moisturizer really wasn’t needed this morning, though it (thankfully) didn’t make me greasy. But for future note… If I’m not feeling super dry, I should let the COOLA stand on its own in the morning.

The good news is that I have no new blemishes, and the one from yesterday seems to be retreating, though it’ll still be a presence for at least another couple of days. It sucks because (unlike yesterday) I had things to do today, and if it wasn’t for that one blemish I could have probably gone bare faced.

I’m still dealing with some clogged pores which I can FEEL more than SEE, but they’ve been slowly improving since I started taking my time with my oil cleanser and massaging my face at night. Clarifying masks have also been a big help, but I just did one on Tuesday, so I won’t likely use it again until tomorrow or Saturday. I’ve also noticed that it helps to go over my face a bit with a warm konjac sponge before I start to cleanse. (This is how I cleanse with water in the mornings on days I do that.)

PM

  1. Julep Love Your Bare Face Cleansing Oil
  2. CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser
  3. Proactiv Toner
  4. LIERAC Mesolift Serum
  5. Garnier SkinActive Clearly Brighter Anti-Puff Eye Roller (15 minutes)
  6. Fresh Black Tea Age-Delay Instant Infusion Treatment Toner
  7. Living Nature Manuka Honey Gel
  8. Caudalie Premier Cru Eye Cream
  9. Neutrogena Grapefruit Moisturizer
  10. Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask
  11. Kate Somerville EradiKate to closed blemishes
  12. Target Hydrocolloid Bandages to open blemishes

I should note that the 15 minutes here is after both the serum and the eye roller because I’m applying a wait period for both at the same time. Since the roller only goes on under my eyes, I feel like I can apply both and THEN wait.

Since there’s not a whole lot going on in the actives department, I’m using the opportunity to use up my Neutrogena moisturizer and Palmer’s face oil. They have actives in them, but I’m not as apprehensive about using them after, say, an AHA peel.

