Skincare Diary: June 1, 2016

Okay, I should have started doing this back when I started overhauling my skincare routine, but I have BRILLIANT ideas well after I start doing things. So even though I’ve already cut my routine down to nearly nothing and then added things back in, I’m starting here. I don’t know if this is going to be a nightly piece or a weekly piece. Right now, it’s an “as I have time to jot things down” piece.

So how did we get here? Well, back in March-ish my skin did it’s semi-annual freak out because the weather is getting warmer. (It’ll do this again in the fall as the weather cools.) Normally, I fly through different skincare products, but this is usually a sign that I need to stop for a bit, let my skin recover, and then figure out what’s working for it NOW. Enter: Caveman Regimen. This is basically doing nothing, and while I still will cleanse my skin or add on a moisturizer or wear makeup, I try my best to keep it to a minimum. Caveman purists will call me a heretic and tell me that I shouldn’t even be letting water touch my face, but I’m just not that good at being bad.

About the time I started adding products back in, I started hanging out over on both the /r/MakeupRehab and /r/AsianBeauty subreddits. I decided I wanted to do two things:

  1. Get my stash down to a more reasonably-sized, uh, heap.
  2. Slowly convert to an Asian skincare routine.

As I take on this journey, I’m basically researching the products I have, deciding what to use and when, and placing them in a reasonable order. I’m also keeping a spreadsheet, which I’ll probably post here at some point. This will help me keep up with what I have, what needs to be used up and when, what works, and whether or not I want to repurchase anything. Anything new is going to be patch tested and introduced one at a time. Ideally, I’ll have two weeks in between introducing a new item and four weeks to completely test something, but since some of these are small samples and I’m just getting started I might not have that much time and end up with two products introduced pretty close together. I’m trying to keep it as sane as possible.

This journal will basically help me to keep track of what I used and when as well as give me an outlet to jot down any thoughts I have for that day. It’s so I can have a reference for when I’m asking for help and/or so that others with more knowledge can chime in with advice, and so that I have something to look back on and cringe later on when I know more. So with that in mind… Here we go!

AM

  1. Water cleansing with konjac sponge
  2. Proactiv Toner (5 minutes)
  3. Proactiv Repair 2.5% benzoyl peroxide treatment (5 minutes)
  4. Living Nature Manuka Honey Gel
  5. e.l.f. Acne Fighting Gel to blemishes
  6. Caudalie Premier Cru Eye Cream
  7. ACURE Day Cream
  8. COOLA Classic Sunscreen Cucumber Moisturizer

I wasn’t oily when I woke up (always good), but I did notice the beginnings of a blemish on my right cheek before I went to bed. This morning, it’s still there just under my skin… waiting… plotting… I can’t use any pink stuff on it during the day, so the e.l.f. comes in handy because it’s clear. My grit situation today isn’t bad at all. I gave my face a good 10-minute oil massage last night and then followed up with a clarifying mask, which seems to have helped a lot.

This was officially my last use for the ACURE day cream. I liked it, but there are others that I have my eye on, so I likely won’t repurchase it anytime soon. I’ll probably replace it with my trial of Belif The True Cream Moisturizing Bomb, which I’ve so far only been using at night. The COOLA can be used on its own as a moisturizer with sunscreen, but I like to have something just in case I need a little extra boost. Honestly, I’d rather have a separate sunscreen and moisturizer, but 1. I really like the COOLA formula and 2. I have a lot of moisturizers with sunscreen to use up first if I’m going to do that.

I’m trying to use up the Proactiv, but I’m keeping benzoyl peroxide in my routine because it works. I have noticed it’s drying on me, so I’m bumping it down to mornings only and likely every other morning. I have oily skin, but dehydration is still an issue that contributes to MORE grit on my face. Also, it’s recommended to not use BP and retinol together because they cancel each other out, and I want to use retinol at night. So… No BP at night.

I’m loving tea tree oil (e.l.f. Acne Fighting Gel) and manuka honey. Both tend to really cut down on inflammation and redness, and the manuka honey in particular helps things heal more quickly. I might not use these products in the future, but I’ll definitely be replacing them with other products that contain tea tree oil. In fact, I have some tea tree essence on order and a manuka honey night cream in my stash right now waiting to be opened and used.

Side note: I’ve been dehydrated myself, so I’m definitely going to track my water and make extra sure I’m getting in my 8 cups or better. Sodas, as much as I love them, are going to be kept to no more than one per day– and that’s only if I’m too lazy to fix my morning coffee.

PM

  1. Julep Love Your Bare Face Cleansing Oil
  2. CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser
  3. Proactiv Toner
  4. LIERAC Mesolift Serum
  5. Garnier SkinActive Clearly Brighter Anti-Puff Eye Roller (15 minutes)
  6. RoC Deep Wrinkle Serum (30 minutes)
  7. Fresh Black Tea Age-Delay Instant Infusion Treatment Toner
  8. Epielle Facial Essence Mask – Collagen with Vitamin E (25 minutes)
  9. Living Nature Manuka Honey Gel
  10. Caudalie Premier Cru Eye Cream
  11. Belif The True Cream Moisturizing Bomb
  12. Kate Somerville EradiKate to closed blemishes
  13. Target Hydrocolloid Bandages (cut to size) to open blemishes

I’m going to be so gosh darn sad when this CeraVe cleanser runs out, and it’s close to being used up. It’s so lovely and foamy when used with my konjac sponge, and my skin loves it. I have lots of other cleansers to use up before this gets repurchased, but let me just stop for a minute to say how much I love it. I will definitely be doing a review on this in the near future.

That RoC serum has two things in it that I’m a little hesitant to use frequently and together– AHA and retinol. I’m using it at night every 2-3 days instead of twice daily until I’m more comfortable with it, and that’s primarily because of the AHA. If it was just retinol, I’d feel better about using it more frequently.

Normally I’ll apply the Fresh lotion by tapping it in with my fingers, but tonight I’m swiping with a cotton pad to remove any gunk left behind by the RoC serum as well as to restore some hydration. Multitasking! I honestly can’t think of a single product from Fresh that I’ve hated.

The mask comes in a pack of 4 for $2 at Big Lots, and I used to hate them. They dry out easily before the 20-30 minutes recommended time and refuse to stay stuck to your face. Then I found out that silicone sheet mask covers existed, and I love these masks. They’re cheap and hydrating, and the mask cover keeps them from drying out.

I’ll probably be done with the Proactiv toner tomorrow or the next day, and I’ve got about 1/3 of a bottle left of my Naobay toner to replace it with. I ordered some Mizon AHA/BHA Daily Cleansing Toner from Amazon a couple days ago, and it arrived today, so I’ll have that on hand for when the other two run out.

6 thoughts on “Skincare Diary: June 1, 2016

  1. Hey! Isn’t it such a treat when your skin freaks out and you have to re-evaluate your entire routine? You know that I too, am doing the whole K beauty routine now… but there are a couple things in mine that aren’t Korean/Asian. Have you tried any of Lush’s products for your face? I ask because you mentioned trying a different day cream…and your skin sounds just like mine. Lush makes a moisturizer called vanishing cream. It is so light, but works, calms my skin so well and doesn’t cause it to get oily. Smells of lavender. It’s been a life saver for me. Day time moisturizers [that didn’t cause me issues] were impossible for me to find.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Almost none of mine are AB products at the moment. It’s mostly my routine for now until I work through this pile. But my skin seems happier now that I’m assessing and putting products on in the proper order and giving them time to work.

      The ingredients I’m looking at right now are snail mucin, bee venom, and tea tree oil. I have a few things with TTO already, and that seems to be helping. I’ve not tried Lush, but I’ll put it on my list of things to try. I’ve heard some good things about Mizon’s Snail Recovery Gel Cream, too.

      Like

      1. That’s great! I use the snail bee and it does work great for my acne and spots but despite seeming like a pretty thick moisturizer, I get a bit dry from it. When it comes to the cleansing and moisturizing my finicky skin seems to respond to the totally natural stuff, enter Lush. Good Luck finding your perfect regimen. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Benton’s Snail Bee is another line I definitely want to try out. I used a sample of Beenigma a while back and loved it, but that stuff is $129/jar.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve noticed a lot of the folks over on the AB subreddit use CeraVe, too. I’ve loved everything I’ve tried from them.

      Like

Comments are closed.