Sephora Play! May 2016 Unboxing

Purchased
Referral links

It’s here! It’s here! It’s finally here!

I’ve been waiting ages to get off of this waitlist, and I’ve finally received my first box from Sephora Play! I’m not even going to mess around. I’m just going to jump right in…

Each month, subscribers will get a “play book,” which is a foldout detailing the items inside. This also includes a card that you can take into any freestanding Sephora (NOT a Sephora inside JC Penny) for a one-on-one tutorial as well as 50 extra points added to your Beauty Insider account with any purchase.

This month’s theme is “The Forces of Nature”. Sephora says that this means the box contains “products that are high performing– and good for you, too.” I have no idea what that description has to do with nature, but the products do seem to contain a lot of natural ingredients even if they’re not all natural.

One thing I really like about this book is that Sephora has taken the word “play” and really run with it. They’re going beyond the usual box of samples and including things like store visits and being able to interact with the book using the Sephora app. You can scan over each item in the book to learn more (though I’ve yet to get this particular feature to work for me). They really seem dedicated to making sure you use the products inside and know how to use them. I like that.

This packaging is new for everyone. This month, Sephora included a cute little makeup bag to put all of your stuff in. I don’t know if this is going to be a permanent change or not, and while I like this for now, I can easily see these bags needlessly piling up. It was a huge problem I had with (of all things) my e.l.f. Beauty Bundle back in the day, and while I like the bags I get from Ipsy, I have that problem with them, as well. In any case, I have ideas for using old pillowcases, now.

These are the first two items included, and I’ll break down the value as I go.

Briogeo
Don’t Despair, Repair!™ Deep Conditioning Mask
Full Size: $36 for 8 oz
Sample Size: 1 oz
Sample Value: $4.50
Link

KORRES
Wild Rose + Vitamin C Advanced Brightening Sleeping Facial
Full Size: $48 for 1.35 oz
Sample Size: 0.34 oz
Sample Value: $12.09
Link

It’s so nice having an item that pays for a subscription right out of the box. (In truth, the card does that all on its own, but you do have to make an additional purchase in order to get that value.) This product from Korres is supposed to moisturize and brighten overnight, so I’m looking forward to giving it a go. I can smell the rose oil in the product despite the foil seal being in place, and I’ve checked to make sure it’s sealed properly.

I loathe getting hair samples in subscription boxes because many times I can’t use them, but conditioners, leave-ins and hair masks are always things that I think most people can put to good use. For me and my dry hair especially, these things are actually appreciated. This has a really nice, clean scent to it. It’s not overly heavy or anything– something I’m especially thankful for after the Davines products that Birchbox sent me.

tarte
Tarteist™ Lip Crayon in Latergram
Full Size: $18 for 0.01 oz
Sample Size: 0.001 oz
Sample Value: $1.80
Link

Bite Beauty
Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Kimchi
Full Size: $26 for 0.15 oz
Sample Size: 0.05 oz
Sample Value: $8.67
Link

I think my lip crayon might be slightly broken, but I’m not particularly shattered over it. I can still use it, and I have a gazillion other pencils in a similar color. I’m mostly interested in trying out this formula, and this seems like it’s good enough for a few uses at least. I’m a big Tarte fan. They make one of my favorite fall/winter foundations. They make my favorite under eye concealer. They make my favorite BB cream. They make my favorite self tanner. I could go on, but I’ll spare you. I’m in love with a lot of Tarte’s products.

Here’s a better look at the Bite lipstick so that you can see the color. This is a pretty bright hot pink, and while I think it’s supposed to be a matte, I didn’t get the sense that it was a true matte. This has a minty smell, and the packaging is freaking adorable. I’ve never tried Bite’s lipsticks before, though their Agave Lip Mask is my Holy Grail for keeping my lips soft and smooth. And if I’m not mistaken, this is edible! I’m not going to be sitting here taking bites out of my Bite, but that’s good to know for a product I’m putting on my lips. Here are both products swatched:

I’m going to play around with Kimchi a bit. I have a very similar color from Laura Mercier that I love. I tend to layer e.l.f.’s Shimmering Facial Whip over it or blot and dust with a little bit of powder through a tissue and then line with a brown pencil to mute the color. I’m curious to see if this can be combined at all with the Tarte crayon.

Origins
Maskimizer™ Skin-Optimizing Mask Primer
Full Size: $22 for 3.20 oz
Sample Size: 0.05 oz (Also includes 0.10 oz samples of two Origins masks)
Sample Value: $0.34 + $0.76 x2 for the mask samples
Link

This is definitely something new to me. I’m already a fan of Origins and their masks. I treated myself with a gift set over the holidays. I’m curious about this primer, which is obviously supposed to prep skin for masks. I’ve never tried anything like this before, but Origins was nice enough to include samples of two of my favorite masks to try it out with.

Atelier Cologne
Orange Sanguine Cologne
Full Size: $70 for 1 oz
Sample Size: 0.05 oz (guess)
Sample Value: $3.50
Link

Each box comes with a bonus perfume sample, and this is the one for May. I don’t see a sample size/weight listed, so I’m giving my best guess here, and I’m probably being generous. That said, THIS will definitely be the item I get with my card.

Now, I’ve ranted and raved before about how much I hate getting perfume samples. I don’t really use perfume. But this… This smells all nice and orangey. It really lives up to it’s name. As much as I didn’t expect it, this was the first item to be snatched out of the bag and used, and since it didn’t come in one of those nifty spray samplers, I immediately dumped the entire contents into one I had left over. So much for not being a perfume gal…

So there you have it. There’s my first box from Sephora in all its glory, and I’m pretty pleased with it. The total value (not counting the bag or the extra points) came out to around $32.43, which is nice for the $10 I paid for it. I feel like I’ll use everything here, and I can’t begin to say how much I’m in love with this cologne. I’ll probably be keeping it around for a while.

If you’re interested in signing up for Sephora Play, you can do so here. They’re expanding, but be aware that there’s still a pretty long waitlist. People have been waiting for several months to get in on this.

 

2 thoughts on “Sephora Play! May 2016 Unboxing

  1. Hmmmm I was tempted to switch to Play until the May Allure box came in and reminded me why I really like it. I dont really need two boxes but this is very tempting! I have been wanting to pick up Bite for awhile but cant bring myself to pay a lot for lip products when so many great ones exist at Target. Looks like you got a good box!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wouldn’t say to switch immediately. I’d at the very least go ahead and sign up for the waitlist. You could be on that for months. Worst case scenario if you switch to Play and hate it, you don’t really have a waitlist (or much of one) to sign back up for Allure.

      The Bite lipstick is probably going to be a new favorite of mine. I have a huge lipstick collection already, though, so I probably won’t purchase another lipstick until I want a particular color or if I need to replace one I already have. Thistle looks pretty, so I might get that.

      Like

Comments are closed.