Monday Musings

c11bd5511b9589a2acb2eed05c5a953a

Have you ever had one of those weekends where you’re kind of glad it’s Monday because it seems like it might be a return to a safe and sane routine? I’m kinda there.

Cleaning House

I’d take a picture of my makeup and skincare collection, but I don’t think I could fit everything into the frame. It’s embarrassing. Really embarrassing. As in, I don’t even exclusively shop at Sephora for products, and I’m not sure whether or not a Rouge status should be a source of pride or shame for me. I did another spreadsheet over the weekend detailing my routine (more on that further down), my products, and a breakdown on how much I spend. I’m not showing you guys a picture of that, either. It’s not that I go over-budget or anything, but… Yeah…

I apparently have eight full size red lipsticks in a nearly identical shade. I honestly suspected I had more, but I think I gave a few of them to my daughter.

So I decided to put my spreadsheet obsession to good use. Everything is dated by when I got it and use by dates (if any). There are also notes on what I liked or didn’t like and whether or not I want to repurchase. It’s broken down by category, item and even by shade and finish. I’ve made a promise to myself that I will use up as much of it as possible or donate if unused before it goes bad. I will not repurchase another product of its kind until it is used up. As things are emptied, I’ll know what to review, how to review it, and what to repurchase.

Right now, I do actually have two purchases I’m looking into making: a new foundation and 1-2 products I (to my astonishment) don’t already have to fit into my new skincare routine. Speaking of…

Starting From Scratch

After my caveman probation ended, I was left with a fairly clean skincare slate. My skin still hasn’t 100% recovered from its annual warmer weather freakout, but it’s on its way. So I’ve assessed my routine and decided to go with a Korean skincare routine. Now, this doesn’t necessarily require Korean products. I’ve assembled my entire collection of skincare and assigned it to a particular step. As I use up items in a category, I’ll probably replace them with a better fit, perhaps even an Asian product– not due to the fact that it’s Asian but more due to the fact that they do tend to fit a little better into the routine. There are in fact some Western products that fit just fine.

The basics are outlined here, but the steps are:

  1. Two-step cleansing
  2. Actives
  3. Lighter Moisturizers
  4. Heavier Moisturizers
  5. Sunscreen/Makeup (AM) or Overnight Treatments (PM)

Ideally, you want at least one product per step, and sometimes more than one. I have everything I need to get started with all of these steps except for the third one. I have a small deluxe sample of a Tata Harper hydrating toner that I got in a Sephora Favorites box, and while I hate the smell of it and won’t repurchase it, it’ll do for now. But I do want to try a mid-range as well as a more affordable option for that category, so I’ll be making at least two purchases to go there. Right now, I’m working on two suggestions: Fresh Black Tea Age-Delay Instant Fusion ($49 at Sephora) and the Hada Labo Gokujun Hyaluronic Lotion ($11 on Amazon). I’ve used products from both brands in the past and loved every single stinking one of them, so I have a good feeling about these two recommendations.

Warmer Weather; Lighter Foundation

As much as I love my current foundation, it’s a bit heavy for summer weather. (It’s still fine for working nights or if I just want heavier makeup, and I plan to keep using it for that.) My current foundation choices are all mattes, and I wanted something more lightweight and full coverage with less of a matte finish, and I’m currently working on a post where I detail what I’ve tried and what I went with. Right now, I’m working with a bottle of UD’s Naked, and I like the feel of it, but I don’t LOVE the finish. I thought Tarte’s Rainforest of the Sea might be another option, but it ended up drying out my skin horribly, so it’s going back. Rather than buy something else only to return it, I’m going to grab samples this time around to compare and make a better decision. Naked might turn out to be the best choice. It might not. We’ll see. Speaking of…

This is why I hate shopping in the store.

I went into a Sephora on Sunday to grab said samples as well as to try out and maybe purchase the aforementioned Fresh product. (My adorable sister-in-law surprised me with a gift card, and it was burning a hole through the bottom of my purse.) Thankfully, Sephora had a huge display of just the sort of products I was looking for as soon as I walked in the door, and of course the Fresh was included in it. I spoke with the girl who approached me about that one versus another one from Fresh which seemed equally tempting, and we eventually agreed that I’d probably like the anti-aging one more.

With that out of the way, I mentioned that I’d still been having trouble settling on a foundation, and rather than buy something and return it, I’d like to grab some samples and try the products at home to see which one I wanted to eventually buy. I explained to her the situation as I did above, and before the girl could answer me back, a second sales associate who had walked up to us cut into the conversation. I never did catch her name, but we’ll call her “Becky.”

Remember that part from Pretty Woman where Vivian goes into a store and is treated like street trash? Yeah, that’s kinda what happened. Becky is now responsible for what has to be the absolute worst experience I’ve ever had in a store, all because I dared to mention that I wanted to pick up some foundation samples. There was a lot of talking down to me like I was an idiot who didn’t know how makeup works, and she was proven hilariously wrong, but more on that in another post. This will otherwise easily turn into a small novel. Long story short,  I only got one of the samples I wanted to grab, and I’m not entirely sure I want to chance using it. There’s no way in hell I’m going back, so today I get to head on over to the local Sephora inside JC Penny and plead my case to them instead. Hopefully I’ll meet friendlier folks.

The Good

On a lighter note, I was in the area in the first place because we were doing some belated birthday shopping for the little one, who just turned TEN. She started out with another Lego set, which I wasn’t thrilled about, but then we found these:

So now kiddo gets a super awesome birthday toy, and I get to not step on anymore Legos.

Also, on the way from Sephora to Toys “R” Us, I ran into a cart for Steel City Pops. These are a local treat, and they’re freaking amazing. I got a Lavender Lemonade pop, and while I was worried it might be too floral, it turned out to be perfection on a stick. Nothing fixes a bad day like cold, drippy perfection on a stick.

We were also there to enjoy dinner at The Melting Pot. Kiddo has been wanting to go for ages, so we decided that birthday time was the best time, especially since birthday time is also anniversary time, and I get free chocolate-covered strawberries.

And now, I get to kick my diet back into high gear…

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Ohhh Steel City Pops is amazing!!! That sucks that you were treated crappy in Sephora. I get mixed experiences in there as well which makes me mad because I usually drop some decent money and expect to be treated as such. Whether I ask for samples or not, dang it!! I am doing them a favor asking for samples instead of buying and returning, you know? I love my Lancome foundation but it is a bit heavy for summer so I am trying Maybelline’s Dream Liquid Mouse and I have to say, I am really loving it!!! Plus it was like $8. Holla!!!! Have you tried that one? They have a matte version too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, I haven’t tried that one! I’ll definitely have to give it a go. I’ve had good experiences with them in the past.

      What really peeves me about the whole Sephora situation is that I could have been one of those people who just orders foundations online and then sends them back, and I’d have gotten ZERO hassle and even scored some free gifts with purchase and three samples that I didn’t have to fight anyone over. So basically it creates a system where folks are rewarded for not going into the stores and dealing with associates.

      I will say that I’ve had AMAZING experiences with a few associates in the past– usually in the Sephora Inside JC Penny over in Trussville. There’s one girl in particular in there who has always been super helpful. I went in a couple of weeks ago, and she was getting swarmed by prom folks but she took time out to swatch me and sell me what I was looking for as well as do a half face on my daughter who had her dance recital the next day.

      Like

Comments are closed.