May 2016 Birchbox Review

Purchased
Referral links

maybirchbox

After a lackluster (but pretty) April box, I had hopes that May would look a little bit better. At the very least, I got to pick one of my samples– a COOLA sunscreen.

Birchbox always includes an insert that tells you about each sample. 

So here’s what I got…

I have to stop and comment on this month’s box. Isn’t it super cute? One of the things I like about Birchbox is the collectible boxes. I’ve reused them as gift boxes and to organize my products in my bathroom closet and drawers. This one isn’t as pretty as last month’s, but it’s definitely one of their prettier designs.

 

Davines
OI / All in One Milk
Full size: $30 for 135 ml
Sample size: 50 ml
Value: $11.11

I don’t hate hair products in my sub boxes quite as much as I do perfume, but it’s a close second. That said, this looks like something I can use, and I’m impressed by how large the sample size was. It also smells really nice, so I’m looking forward to trying this out a lot more than I thought I’d be. Plus, the value of this sample pays for my subscription by itself, so I’m happy.

Davines
Absolute Beautifying Shampoo for All Hair Types
Full size: $28 for 280 ml
Sample Size: 12 ml
Value: $1.20

Birchbox sent a bonus foil packet of shampoo and conditioner to go with the leave in above, so I won’t pitch my usual bitch fit over receiving shampoo (again) even though I don’t use it. I’m definitely passing this on to my sister-in-law or my daughter, but at least I get an extra $1 in points this month.

Davines
Absolute Beautifying Conditioner for All Hair Types
Full size: $34 for 250 ml
Sample Size: 12 ml
Value: $1.63

This is just a foil packet of the matching conditioner for the above, but at least I can use conditioner.

CLEAN
Blossom Eau de Parfum
Full Size: $72 for 2.14 oz
Sample Size: 0.05 oz
Value: $1.68

I’m SO not a perfume girl. I hate perfume. I hate perfume samples. I’ve got enough perfume in samples to last me until this time next year. That said, this is at least a nice, powdery scent that isn’t too heavy and is nice and wearable for warmer months, so I’ll keep it.

Eyeko
Skinny Liquid Eyeliner
Full size:  $16 for 0.07 oz
Sample size: 0.04 oz
Value: $9.14

It’s hard for me to get excited about liquid/pen eyeliners. I can’t do a cat eye on myself to save my life. Plus, this is black, and I have a ton of black eyeliners. This will be donated or passed on to someone else in need of black liquid eyeliner.

COOLA®
Classic Face Sport SPF 50 White Tea
Full size: $32 for 1.7 oz
Sample size: 0.17
Value: $3.20

This was my sample choice, and since it’s a product I already own a full size of, I knew I’d love it. This is a great sunscreen. It’s nice and light and moisturizing, and it absorbs quickly into the skin. I’m not a fan of the scent, but it does fade pretty quick.

Burt’s Bees
Tinted Lip Balm
Full size: $7 for 0.15 oz
Sample size: Full Size
Value: $7

Burt’s Bees always makes me happy, and tinted lip balms are my go-to spring/summer lippie, so I’m incredibly happy to snag one in a sub box.

My bag this month has a total value of $34.97, not including the $7 in Birchbox points I get for reviewing each item. With the points included, this box has a value of $41.97. I also ended up liking the items sent to me much better than I expected to. After months of less than thrilling Birchboxes, I’m happy to see an improvement.

If you’d like to sign up for Birchbox, click here.

What did you get this month?

One thought on “May 2016 Birchbox Review

  1. This does look like a fun box. Burt’s Bees is always good and who cant use sunscreen this time of year??? I am with you on pefume samples. I only want the samples if it is a scent that I like. I have a few duds over the last few months that I am saving for my niece.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.