April 2016 Birchbox

Purchased
Referral links

blog graphic

Okay, I caved. I cancelled in March and now they’ve hooked me again for April. In my defense, this box is just too darn pretty! I’m a sucker for all things Rifle Paper Co. They make really nice gifts.

As always, Birchbox includes an insert that tells you about each item you got. I also got a unique code that gives me 20% off my next purchase from Rifle Paper Co.

So here’s what I got…

Whish
Shave Crave Shaving Cream in Lavender
Full Size: $16
Sample Size: 0.75 oz
Value: $2.35

This is the brand behind that cleansing oil I hated with an extreme passion. It left behind a horrible greasy film that wouldn’t rinse off, and I had to use another cleanser to remove it. I’d heard a lot of people complain about the smell of this shaving cream, but I like lavender, so I’m not bothered. Here’s hoping the shaving cream is a better experience. I mean… How do you screw up shaving cream? Right?

Beaver
Repair Rescue Conditioner
Full size: $16.90
Sample size: 1.35 oz
Value: $3.22

It smells nice, so this will be good for a co-wash or two.

Beaver Repair Rescue Shampoo
Full size: $15.90
Sample size: 1.35 oz
Value: $2.47

I’ll admit that I forgot to check the size on the sample before I immediately tossed it in a box and handed it off to my sister-in-law. I don’t use shampoo on my hair. It’s too drying. ‘Nuff said.

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics
Lip Tar Liquid Lipstick in Black Metal Dahlia
Full size: $16
Sample size: 0.08 oz
Value: $9.14

I’ll definitely be doing a more thorough review on this stuff with a swatch included. I was utterly FLOORED by how gorgeous the color was. It reminds me a lot of a Star Wars lipstick I got in my Target box and loved, and it’s highly pigmented. Plus the value of this item makes up for them including a shampoo in my box.

rms beauty™
the ultimate makeup remover wipes
Full size:  $16 for 20 wipes
Sample size: 2 wipes
Value: $1.60

Makeup wipes are always useful to have. I can’t complain.

My bag this month has a total value of $13.77, with the value of items I’ll use totaling $11.31. That pretty much breaks me even on the cost of the bag ($10) until you count the $5 in Birchbox points I’ll get for reviewing each of the items. With every box, you earn back half its value in points, which can then be used to purchase items in the Birchbox shop. I used mine a couple months ago to get a really nice skincare set for just $10. With that in mind, the total value is pushed up a bit to about $18.77.

Since this was a resub, I was also able to use a code that gave me a couple of free pocket notebooks from Rifle Paper Co.

See what I’m talking about with this company? So pretty!

If you’d like to sign up for Birchbox, click here.

What did you get this month?

One thought on “April 2016 Birchbox

Comments are closed.