April 2016 Bulu Box Review

Purchased

20160419_175857

As I’ve made apparent, I love my subscription boxes. I’ve been getting Bulu Box for about three months, and I figured it was time I shared my experience. Bulu Box, by the way is a service that sends you samples of healthy snacks and supplements every month for $10. You get a minimum of five samples (sometimes more), and by reviewing those samples, you earn back points that can be used to purchase items from their store. If that points system sounds familiar, it’s because it’s pretty much identical to the points system that Birchbox uses. You get 10 points for each review, and every 10 points = $1 to use in the store. For those doing the math, for every $10 box you get, you earn back at least half that in points.

So far, my experience has been a mixed bag, but I’ve been tracking it. My first month’s box was worth around $8, not including points, but my second box was worth about $65 and included two 60-capsule bottles of supplements– one a probiotic and one a fruit chewable that I have kind of enjoyed. This month is a bit lower in value, but so far this box manages to be a big hit for me.

As you can see above, I got seven samples this month:

Mrs. Crimble’s Choc Macaroons
1 Cookie
$0.67

This lasted about an hour after I got the box. I love coconut. These gluten-free delights are so soft and really tasty. I’ll probably use my points to get more. Full size is $11.97 for 18 cookies.

Cal-EZ 
2 Single Serving Packs
$3.20

This is a calcium and vitamin D supplement that you can add to pretty much anything from a protein shake to your morning coffee. I do take calcium supplements, so this is nice to have, but I think it’s more aimed at people who want an alternative to pills and chewables. I’m fine with the ones I use. Full size is $12.95 for a 30-day supply, which makes it a bit pricier than my current favorite chewable.

Udo’s Choice Enzyme Blend
3 Capsules
$1.10

This is a digestive support supplement. I don’t really have that many digestive issues unless I’ve eaten something I probably shouldn’t have, so again, this one isn’t really for me. Full size is $21.99 for 60 capsules.

Fru-Licious Freeze Dried Fruit
1 Pouch
$1.00

I already love freeze dried fruit. I often purchase a pouch from Starbucks when I’m there if it’s available. It’s a convenient way to toss my daily serving of fruit into my bag. I might get more of these. Full size is $11.99 for a 12-pack.

The Hand Stuff
3 Gram Sample
$0.60

This stuff gets points for the name alone. It’s a hand cream. I have more than enough of those, but I’ll enjoy the sample, and I got a huge kick out of the name. Full size is $11.99 for a 2-oz container.

Dual Fuel Sports Nutrition Bar
1 Bar
$2.49

I live off of protein bars some days. For 150 calories, I get 2g fiber, 11g protein, and a temporarily-satisfied chocolate craving. That’s not bad when I literally don’t have time to grab a real lunch. That said, the full size is $29.88 for 12 bars, which is more than twice what I would normally pay for a package of bars. My current favorite Salted Caramel Brownie from Zone Perfect sets me back about $10 for a 12-pack on Amazon, so I don’t see this replacing it anytime soon.

VanaPain
1 Single-Serving Bottle
$3.20

I think we could all use pain reliever at some point in our lives. Considering I’m currently dealing with a swollen and sprained ankle, it’ll definitely come in handy very soon. This is certainly a new way to take a pain reliever, but the price is headache-inducing: $38.40 for only 12 single-serving bottles. I think I’ll stick to my Advil.

This month’s box had a value of $9.92, but with $7 in points for reviewing it, it brings the value up to $16.92 for a $10 box– and I use a coupon from My Subscription Addiction that gives me half off my monthly subscription. In other words… I only paid $5 for $7 in store credit and nearly $10 in samples. (The code is “MYSUB5” if you want to sign up, which you can do here.)

One thought on “April 2016 Bulu Box Review

  1. I like that you can write reviews to get cash towards items you liked. That is pretty cool. I think this box would be a mix for me too. Some things I am totally intrigued by and would love to try, and a few things I could do without or are a bit too high for me to want to purchase again. The Hand Stuff made me laugh. And laugh and laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.