How I learned to live with my hairy arms.

TMI? Get over it. We all have body hair. I come from an Italian family, so I have a little more than most people, and I’ve spent the better part of my life plucking, shaving, waxing, threading, bleaching, and Nairing.

My arms have been the biggest problem. Bleaching only lasts for so long, and almost any form of hair removal means I’ll be dealing with thicker and darker hair when it grows back. (And who wants to deal with stubble and ingrown hair on their arms?) Lasering could work, but lasering is expensive. So I learned to love fall and winter and long sleeves, because then I could hide my arms and not worry so much about it. Then spring and summer would roll around and it was back to bleaching. 

And then I watched Jessica Jones, and I noticed something about the gorgeous Krysten Ritter…

OMG!!! KRYSTEN RITTER HAS ARM HAIR, AND SHE’S FREAKING GORGEOUS!!!

So I did some more digging, and it would appear that I’m in good company:

Cindy Crawford
Adriana Lima
Alyssa Milano
Kiera Knightley

These are women who are considered among the most beautiful women in the world, and they all have a good bit of arm hair. And you know what? If these women can own their arm hair, I can own my arm hair, too.

2 thoughts on “How I learned to live with my hairy arms.

  1. I love this!!! You are so right, it doesn’t look like any of those woman care anything about their arm hairs!!! My hair is super fine/thin and that goes for my arms as well. In the winter is when it is at its darkest, a dark brown. In the summer it turns blonde and you dont notice it at all. I never really thought about arm hair though. Like I see lots of people with lots of it, but I don’t think any less of them? Does that make sense? Just own it girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It makes perfect sense. It seems to me that I (and other women who have the same dark hair on their arms) think about it more than other people do. So I think I’ve come to a point where I’m just going to own it.

      Like

Comments are closed.