Moday Musings

MondaysSuck

Yes, I know I haven’t done one of these in a couple of weeks. Honestly… My life just hasn’t been that exciting, and I’m pretty sure you guys don’t want to hear me going on about homeschooling yet again. That is my life right now, though it’s getting easier. Well, this week, I actually have a few things to talk about.

Deadpool

We got to see this on opening weekend, and while I’m DYING to talk about how awesome it was and how true to the comics it is, I have to resist the urge to spoil it. The R rating is VERY justified, but that’s not because anything is out of place or there just for the sake of being there (as I initially feared). If you’re a fan of the character as he’s meant to be, you absolutely will NOT be disappointed. This is not one of those movies where the best stuff is in the trailers.

But just one thing… Don’t take your kids. Seriously, guys. Don’t take your kids. There were two in the theater when we went to see it, and of course the parents were upset walking out. There’s full frontal nudity, among other things. If you’re not comfortable with your kid seeing Game of Thrones, you’re not going to want them to see this. Use good judgment here, people.

Starbucks

Goodbye, and thanks for all the fish!

Well, not entirely, but I’m slowly going to be pulling back after the recent changes to their loyalty program. While I get that they’re trying to keep people from having to ring up separate items individually, it could have been easily solved by issuing one star per item instead of per transaction. Now we have a system where anyone spending less than $6 per item (read: most customers) will be penalized. Under the new system, you must spend at least $62.50 to get a “free” drink, and that’s just bad math.

To boot, I found out on my birthday that they’ve also cut the time you can use your birthday reward from 2 weeks (down from 30 days) to just FOUR DAYS! Considering I was working that weekend and couldn’t make it to Starbucks, I nearly lost my reward. Instead of getting to sit down and enjoy it on a day off, it was a mad scramble on the way into work. Happy birthday, eh?

I’ll still get the occasional frap, but I have an espresso machine now. I can make my own flavored lattes for cheaper, and to me they taste better anyway. Consider me one less gold member. I’ll be spending a lot less at Starbucks as a result.

Fuller House got renewed!

Yay! I can’t wait to see the second season! I ended up watching the entire first season in one sitting (with meal breaks, of course). It was such a nostalgia trip, and it was deliciously cheesy. Oh, and I’m Team Mike.

Maybe the next season will have more episodes…

One thought on “Moday Musings

  1. They cut down the birthday drinks time too??? RUDE!!!! It took me a long time to use mine last year just because I was busy and didn’t have time to stop by most mornings. Sheesh.

    I am happy about the second season of Fuller House!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.