Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo & Volumizing Keratin Conditioner Review

20160106_134539

This would be the second item I’ve received for the purposes of reviewing from iFabbo. (You can read all about my review process here.) The first one was something I was genuinely hoping would work, but it didn’t– at least not for me. I nearly passed on this one because it didn’t appeal to me at all, and well…

As it turns out, I know less than Jon Snow, and we all know how much Jon Snow knows.

But is he still alive?!?!

I’ve said time and again… Shampoo does not touch my hair, and I think that’s why I was so hesitant to try this. I hate shampoo. It’s too drying for curly hair like mine. I think in my lifetime I’ve come across maybe two shampoos that didn’t turn my hair into straw, and those two still weren’t amazing enough to convince me that I needed to use a shampoo.

Also not in Keranique’s favor is the word “volumizing.” My hair is curly. I don’t need no stinkin’ volumizing.

So why did I agree try this stuff? Well, to be frank… I was bored. I was bored, and that led to be being curious.

The product claims are as follows:

Scalp Stimulating Shampoo for Thinning Hair:

  • Retains shine.
  • Provides combability, detangling & smoothing without weighing the hair down.
  • Removes build-up.
  • Protects against cuticle damage.
  • Healthy way of keeping hair fuller and thicker looking.

Volumizing Keratin Conditioner for Thinning Hair:

  • Conditions and volumizes fine hair.
  • Improves manageability, combability, detangling & conditioning without weighing the hair down.
  • No heavy, waxy feeling on the hair nor scalp.
  • Adds body and volume.
  • Improves hair strength and provides anti-breakage protection.

So here’s my hair in all it’s curly glory, though it’s about three days after a wash. Please excuse the glare. Glasses, you know…

I’m honestly already happy with the volume of my hair. I don’t feel like it’s flat or anything. The only thing I’d complain about is my color, which seems to go from red to brown depending on the lighting, and I wish it’d make up its mind. (It’s reddish brown.) Somehow, I doubt that a shampoo and conditioner is going to change that for me.

And here’s the freshly washed results:

No, my hair is not longer, by the way. I just took the picture at a weird angle. I will say, however, that I can ABSOLUTELY see a difference in both texture and volume. My curls are more defined and actually shiny, despite the fact that I’ve used a shampoo and despite the fact that it’s a pretty darn dry day. So did it work? Yep, and after just one wash.

The first thing I noticed about Keranique is the scent. It’s nice and minty, and you’ll definitely get a minty tingle when you use it. It’s not overpowering once your hair is try, and your hair is left just smelling clean.

It’s also thin. In fact, I was a little disappointed at how much product I felt I had to use, but then that might have just been me. I’ll have to try it with a little less next time. The shampoo didn’t feel drying at all, and the conditioner left my hair feeling incredibly smooth. I used ONE styling product on my hair post shower– my beloved SheMoisture styling cream.

But here’s the question… Would I pay $50 for a shampoo and conditioner? I personally don’t feel like my hair is overly dry or limp without this product, so while I like the results here, I’m not desperate to start throwing my cash at a brand new hair care routine. So I probably wouldn’t. That said, if spending that kind of money on a hair care product is in your budget and this addresses concerns you have about your hair, then I do definitely recommend it. I did, after all, see some very real results.

Click here if you’re interested in giving Keranique a try.

2 thoughts on “Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo & Volumizing Keratin Conditioner Review

    1. This one sat very light on my hair. I was very surprised by it. I don’t know if I’d pay that much for shampoo and conditioner, though. I probably wouldn’t have tried it at all if they hadn’t sent it to me, but I was very impressed.

      Like

Comments are closed.