January 2016 Birchbox & Ipsy Reveal

This post contains referral links.

Is it already time for another Birchbox and Ipsy? Yes it is, and here’s what I’m getting!

Birchbox

birchbox

 

The curated box was no longer available by the time I got to make my selection, and I didn’t feel like plopping down $15 on purchasing the curated box separately after last month’s disappointment, so I went with the lip tint sample and left the rest to chance. I don’t have a great feeling about this. All of my products are in the $20-30 range, so unless there are some wonderfully-sized samples, I have a feeling I’m going to be disappointed by Birchbox again this month, but we’ll see…

Embryolisse
Lait-Crème Concentré (24-Hour Miracle Cream)
This has some mixed reviews, but I’m willing to give it a try. It’s a multi-purpose product, so that’s always a plus with me.

Number 4™
Super Comb Prep & Protect
I don’t really heat style my hair very often, so I’m wondering if I’ll find a use for this.

Klorane
Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk
Dry shampoo is actually something I’ll use, as long as it goes on clear. I just happen to have a whole lot of dry shampoo on hand right now, so while it’ll be useful, it’s not something I’m super excited about getting.

Eyeko
Black Magic Mascara
Mascara… I’m about as excited about getting this as I am a baggie of Q-Tips. (I’m looking at you, Walmart Beauty Box.)

TONYMOLY
Delight Tony Tint
This at least seemed interesting to me. I like lip and cheek tints when done right, but I’ve yet to achieve my goal of Jessica Jones lips. I want Krysten Ritter’s lip look so bad…

Birchbox is just $10/month, and the value of these boxes is usually way more than that. I’ve also had to spend less of my money on skin care, hair care, and makeup as a result of these subscriptions. If you’d like to give it a try, click here.

Ipsy

Last month surprised me. I usually prefer my Birchbox, but it turned out to be a huge win for Ipsy. Who’s to say that this month won’t be the same?

theBalm Cosmetics
Mr. Write (Now)
I’m already a huge fan of this brand, particularly since Ipsy sent me their liquid matte lipstick, which I’m still loving. I also adore their packaging, which is super fun! Every Ipster should be getting one of these in either Jack B. Bronze (rich bronze) or Scott B. Bordeaux (deep purple). My picture shows the bronze, which I’d like, but I really, really hope I get the purple. I don’t have a purple I love just yet. I also usually get a full size when it comes to liners, so if that’s the case with this one, the $17 price tag will have already paid for the cost of my bag. Then again, this does not get great reviews, and I did just have it out with a UD pencil (more on that in another post), so… I’m skittish, you guys.

City Color Cosmetics
Eyeshadow Trio in Falling Leaves
Words cannot express how much I don’t want this product. It will probably be gifted. I have at least three eyeshadow trios in my possession right now that are the exact same colors, and this seems like it’s going to be really small. But who knows? Maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised by this.

pur~lisse
BLUE LOTUS 4-in-1 Eye Adore Serum
Okay, I’m a sucker for eye cream/serum. I can never have enough. I leave little Jenna eye cream droppings behind me wherever I go. So this is pretty much guaranteed to be a winner with me as long as it’s a fairly decent size. [Insert part where I peek at the size.] HOLY CATS!!! This is apparently a 0.24 oz sample, which is nearly HALF the full size .5 oz, which retails at $65!!! That’s a $130/oz product!!! [Insert more exclamation points for emphasis.] [Insert even more exclamation points.] Yep. This is going to pay for my box three times over.

Lasting Smiles
Lip Balm in Peppermint Creme
Eh… lip balm. It’s full size, and it’ll probably go to my kid or my husband. There’s a joke about how much lip balm I have because I do buy a lot of it, but that’s just it… I already have a lot of it, and I don’t really need any more. It’s an obvious fill-in item because it retails for about $4 at Target, but I’m still so excited about the freaking eye serum that I might just throw up. I’m seriously flailing right now, so I really don’t care about the damn lip balm.

Jelly Pong Pong
Fairy Lashes CURL
Eh… mascara. Another one. I go through maybe one tube every month or two and then throw it away. I’m so NOT a mascara girl. I don’t keep more than one or two open at a time, and between this and the other mascara I’m getting this month PLUS the other FOUR unopened mascaras I have on hand… Well, I really don’t need another one, but I guess I’m all set to have dark eyelashes for the zombie apocalypse.

Okay, so this box might just be another winner for me because of one item alone. Ipsy, like Birchbox is also just $10/month, and again the value of the items included tends to exceed that. Both boxes are a great way to try out new products or just have products on hand that you’d probably need anyway. If you’d like to sign up for Ipsy, click here.

What are you getting this month?

