December Julep Unboxing & Review

20151205_145113Julep Maven is fairly new for me. I’ve only be subscribing since August, but they’ve already gotten me hooked with a few of their products. I did just finish raving about them in my November favorites. I like that it can be either customized or skipped from month to month. I can even choose to gift it, and it’s an affordable way to grab some otherwise pricey products. A box of three items that you can customize pretty much any way you want is $24.99. The face cleansing oil that I like, for example, costs $28 by itself at full price. Just one of those pays for the box all by itself. Their nail treatments are about $18 at Sephora. By snagging them in my Maven boxes, I get them for about $8 each.

20151205_145204

This month’s featured product was Julep’s new matte lip mousse, and the box included a small write up on it as well as a coupon for a free color with my next purchase of $10 or more.

It’s Whipped Matte Lip Mousse
Pucker Up

Link   Retail Price $20   Maven Price $16

20151205_145503.jpg

It’s not often that I decide to get a new makeup product from Julep. I’m a little bit chicken, so I wait until the reviews are out, and then I’ll maybe choose to put it in my next box. But I figured I’d give this one a try since I’m still experimenting with long wear lip colors. This looked pretty and purpley from the pictures on the site, and it’s described as “violet verve.” I’ve been looking for a purple.

The packaging is gorgeous, very similar to the way their polishes look, only this is a lot bigger than a polish. I do love when makeup is pretty enough to leave out on the counter. Ignore the light pink tone shown in the picture. That’s mostly the lighting in my office, though the color wasn’t as dark as what the pictures show on the Julep website. (The weird lighting issues are also why I don’t have pictures of swatches to show you. I can’t figure out why the colors in my pictures are so off.)

This isn’t super hydrating, but it is very comfortable to wear for hours at a time. I don’t feel like I’m wearing caked mud, so that’s a plus. I hate super drying liquid lipsticks. It isn’t transfer proof or even transfer resistant. I went to Starbucks wearing this, and it did come off on my cup, but it wasn’t the globs that you’ll sometimes see. It also managed to stay pretty for hours without me needing to reapply, though I kind of hated the wand. It was a gorgeous matte and very pretty on me, though not quite the bright purple I’d been hoping for. It’s a little too close to Too Faced’s Melted Lipstick in Melted Fig (my current favorite) for me to purchase this again. I’m not a huge fan of Too Faced’s applicator, but I like it better than Julep’s.

Dial Up Your Glam Multidimensional Orbital Eyeshadow
Andromeda

Link   Retail Price $18.00   Maven Price $14.40

20151205_145857.jpg
Sorry. I know this is a horrible shot.

This is another featured product from this month’s collection. I wanted a shimmery fig or plum color, and this seemed to be what I was looking for. Julep describes it as “fig with chrome pearlescence,” and it does look like that in the pot, which comes with a handy mirror. It also looks like that on the model on their website. Unfortunately, when I swatch it, it looked nothing like the picture. It’s dark but not what I’d call “fig,” and that’s not so much “pearlescence” as it is glitter that is incredibly messy and gets everywhere. It’s pretty. It’s just not what I was expecting. It’s also hard to work with. I can apply it with my finger or wet, but applying this stuff dry with a brush is like pulling teeth. It can be pretty. It just takes some work, and even then it’s messy.

Oxygen Performance Top Coat

20151205_145637

Link   Retail Price $18.00   Maven Price $14.40

This is a product I’ve been using for a while. I love Julep’s top coats in general. They dry super quick, and by that I mean that my nails are virtually oops-proof after about 10 minutes. I don’t have to be super careful with my nails, though I did find out that if I slam my fingers in the washing machine door, that will still leave a dent. These top coats also tend to correct any mistakes I’ve made during the process of painting my nails, leveling out any weird brush marks or small dings, though it won’t work miracles. I absolutely love these. Since I already had a color I prefer for this month, I decided to grab a backup for when my other bottle of this stuff finally runs dry.

Total retail value of my box was $56, and even with my Maven discounts, the total value is still $44.80. That’s not bad for the $25 I got it all for, even if the colors weren’t quite what I wanted. I’ll emphasize that me being this disappointed is unusual for me with Julep. I’ve had very good luck with other items, and their nail polishes are amazing. I also enjoy their gel eye liners.

If you’d like to give Julep Maven a try, you can grab my referral link here.

One thought on “December Julep Unboxing & Review

Comments are closed.