NUDE Skincare Detox Brightening Fizzy Powder Wash

 

I’m not too picky when it comes to cleansers. If it gets the job done without ripping all the moisture out of my face, then I’m happy. I leave the real work to my moisturizers, serums, and other treatments. After all, that’s what’s going to be sitting on my skin for hours on end. It takes me maybe three minutes to wash my face.

I’ll admit I was skeptical when I got this sample packet. I’ve tried powder cleansers and scrubs before, and I’ve hated every single one of them. I don’t get the appeal for most of them, outside of a DIY put-this-thing-together-before-you-use-it gimmick. At least with this one I can uderstand that the whole fizzy nature of the cleanser requires that it stay dry until you’re ready to use it. Even then, it’s hard to judge (at least at first) how much product to use at a time and how much water to add. There always seems to be a learning curve involved. The last one of these I tried, it was the S.W. Basics Body Scrub that came in my Target Beauty Box. I found it goopy, unpleasant, and incapable of doing the one job it had– being a scrub. It was more gimmick than effective.

So I will be honest and say that the little foil packet I got received some dirty looks from me. I was pretty convinced I was going to hate it. But I got the sample, so I might as well try it, right? I opened it up and poured out a little bit into my hand. This turned out to be WAY more than I needed, but I didn’t use the whole packet. (Again, I will mention the learning curve when it comes to powder cleansers and judging how much you need.) I added a few drops of water to start out with so that I didn’t add too much water, and I was rewarded with a satisfying fizzy puff of cleanser. I added that to my face and then put some more water in my hand and added the newly wet and puffed cleanser to my face, repeating the process until I had enough of my face covered.

There really is a certain childlike joy in using this product due to the reaction when you add the water. I felt a little bit like I was playing. So it definitely gets points for being fun to use. That’s new. The thing that impressed me, though, is that it was actually an effective cleanser. It exfoliates well, which means that it’s unfortunately not an every day product for me. It really felt like it was getting deep down in there and scrubbing out all the nastiness. But at the same time it was moisturizing. I didn’t feel like my skin was being ripped to shreds or overly dried out, even a few minutes after patting my skin dry. My face just felt clean and soft. I kinda loved it.

So what’s in this stuff? Sephora lists the ingredients on the product page, but I’ll break it down a bit. It’s fragrance-free (a big plus for me), paraben-free, and sulfate-free. It contains natural brighteners, primarily citrus, and those really do seem to work. Coconut oil softens, along with other ingredients.

Would I pay $42 for a 2 oz full size? Maybe. I’ve got enough scrubs on hand to last me a while. I also have found a few scrubs that do an adequate job at a fraction of that price, but I will say that a 2 oz container of this stuff will go a long way if you don’t exfoliate every day– which you shouldn’t unless you’re dealing with special circumstances that require you to do so. I tend to exfoliate 2-3 times per week. Judging by the small amount of the powder that I had to use, I’d say the full size could probably last me up to six months. If that’s the case for you, you’re looking at roughly a $7/month investment in a good scrub. Personally, I’d rather invest in good moisturizers and treatments, but that’s not a horrible price tag, considering.

2 thoughts on “NUDE Skincare Detox Brightening Fizzy Powder Wash

  1. This one sounds interesting. I tried a bare minerals powder cleanser quite awhile back that I enjoyed well enough. I just hate paying more than $20 or $30 for a cleanser though since it literally just gets washed down the drain.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.