Monday Musings

Yep. I’m definitely going to make this a weekly thing along with a Friday food post. That way, I think, I can be more consistent and get my randomness out  in one big post and then leave the rest of my blogging for my reviews. (It’s early on in this blog’s life. Be patient with me while I figure this all out.)

Black Friday Shopping

Well, I caved… kinda. I did get some online shopping in, but then we decided to leave the house at about 6 p.m. because my mother was keeping the kiddo over the weekend and we had only ourselves to worry with. By that time, everything was of course quiet as could be. We even squeezed in a trip to Red Robin, where I finally found poutine!

Technically not poutine.
Technically not poutine.

Now, I’ve been corrected by my Canadian friends that this is technically not quite poutine (though close enough), but when you’re in the Birmingham area, you take what you can get. It had fries, gravy, and cheese, and that was enough for me to love it. The burgers… not so much. They weren’t bad, but for nearly $15, I could be eating a Hamburger Fonfon.

…and Iron Bowl Shopping

This one is more our style. We tend to wait until the Iron Bowl is on and then hit the stores since, in Alabama, they become deserted wastelands. This year, we settled on The Summit. We checked out Trader Joe’s for the first time since it’s opened. We’d never been in a Trader Joe’s before, and it soon was dubbed “Hipster Aldi.” It was the only store aside from Sephora with a line at the register, and I didn’t want that chocolate Advent calendar that badly, so we left empty handed. I did pick up some gifts at Sephora and Barnes & Noble. We also ate at Flip Burger since we were in the area and since Laura and Nadine suggested it.

Lets all just take a moment to appreciate this hamburger.
Lets all just take a moment to appreciate this hamburger.

I’ve never been there before, either, but I have a feeling we’ll be going back. They also have poutine that wasn’t really poutine, but the real star was the sweet potato tots that I had to take home to finish. I could eat these forever!

REALLY not poutine.
REALLY not poutine, but still tasty.

New Makeup (because OF COURSE I got more)

Every time I walk into a Sephora I end up changing the brand of whatever it is I went in to get. Right now it’s foundation. I’m still playing around with the tarte foundation in different situations. I really like the finish on that. I grabbed some samples of Make Up For Ever Ultra HD foundation to try as well. I also grabbed a sample of Too Faced’s Shadow Insurance in champagne. I like Urban Decay, and I’ve used it for ages, but the new formula or packaging or SOMETHING is annoying the crap out of me because it’s clumping on me. I really hate that wand applicator, too. So I figured I’d try out Too Faced’s version, which is very similar in appearance. If I like, I’ll switch. I’m eyeballing Urban Decay shadows again, and this time I’m going for the one in Sephora’s Superstars set— Lounge. Only thing is, I should be getting a holographic shadow in my next Julep box, so I’m going to wait and see how that looks, first. I’m also trying to wait until after Christmas before I really go nuts over eyeshadows in Sephora. Again.

I also got a Too Faced blush and liquid lipstick gift set, which were $36 for a set of three (making them $12 each), and an Origins mask mini trio for $10, making those a little over $3 each. I thought these would be fun to stuff in some stockings for my sisters-in-law, and I’ll probably keep the third for myself. That Fig lip color intrigues me, so I’m claiming that one.

I cleaned out my office. Only problem is… I cleaned out my office.

My office is that spot in the house where everybody dumps the crap that they don’t want to toss out but don’t have a place for, and I finally got fed up with it. We drug EVERYTHING out of there and into the living room, and the rule was that if it went back into my office, it had to have a place. If it didn’t have a place there or anywhere else, it had to go. There is now a pile next to the garbage can and a pile next to the car of stuff we’re going to toss, donate, or pawn (because I’m too impatient to sell it online or in a garage sell). I also kept two boxes in my office– one of pictures to scan and catalog and one of stuff to sell on ebay.

Problem now is that I never actually decorated this room. It’s a big blank space with a few frames on the wall, a couple of desks, and that’s it. I’m clueless when it comes to home decor, so now I’m on Pinterest trying to come up with ideas.

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. They have poutine at Mojo’s in Lakeview 🙂 I like Red Robin alright, but you are right about the price! There are so many better burgers to be had around here.

    Those sweet potato tots sound delicious!!! I will have to try those out. Thanks for the shout out by the way!!! We are just getting things going on that site and we really appreciate the love!

    I am with you on not liking the wand on the UD primer. They used to have a wand a long time ago and it was fine. This new one I got has creased on me with certain shadows that I use. Keep me updated on your experience with Too Faced.

    I have some really great ideas on what I want to do with my home office. But it is super girly. Not sure what look you are going for?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I haven’t been to Mojo’s! Thanks for the tip!
      I’ll definitely be reviewing the products I’m trying out. If the Too Faced works for me, I might be switching.
      As to the office… I’m not sure at all. I am a completely blank slate. Even the walls are neutral.

      Like

Comments are closed.