Stir Fry Burgers

This experiment started last week when I tried out a new stir fry recipe. As we sat there eating and enjoying it, my husband turned to me and said, “This would make a really good burger.” So tonight we tried it.

I also learned that I need to replace my George Foreman grill, which is why I’m not posting any pictures. It wasn’t pretty. The good news is, it tasted amazing, and it’s so versatile, you can top it a number of ways. So I decided to share…

2 lbs. ground meat (your choice, if you’ve got a special mix you like to use)
4 scallions
1 Tbsp fresh grated ginger
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp Sriracha
1/4 cup hoison sauce
1/4 cup soy sauce

Start by trimming the roots from your scallions and slicing them thinly. You can keep the dark greens for a garnish, but you pretty much aren’t going to need them for the purposes of this recipe. You only need the whites and light greens. Toss those and everything else listed above into a large bowl and mix with your hands before forming into eight patties. You might choose to add a touch of salt or pepper, but I found it wasn’t really needed due to the soy sauce.

Cook these however you like– broiled, grilled, whatever. Toast your buns and serve. We topped ours with grilled pineapple and plum sauce, but there are some other ways you can swing this:

  • sauteed onion and bell peppers
  • sauteed mushrooms, spinach and smoked provolone
  • slaw

Of course, you might have an idea of your own. I really don’t want to limit you here. You’re working with Asian flavors, so keep that in mind.

