Target Beauty Box – The Curly Girl Edition

20150917_132434

Target’s beauty box gets on my nerves just a bit because, unlike Walmart’s typically inferior version, it’s not a subscription box. Therefore, you find yourself stalking Twitter announcements to catch it the second it goes on sale and then battle it out with a thousand different ebay opportunists just so that you can get yours before it sells out within hours of going live.

It’s a good box, and people want it. Why not make it a subscription box and then make the process easier?

Unlike other boxes, however, Target does show you what’s in the box before you buy it. Having curly hair, I couldn’t order it fast enough. It’s only $5, and this is what was in it:

20150917_132610

CONDITIONERS!!!

I pay a little under $5 for just one conditioner, so $5 for a box of them plus a couple of other things (toothpaste, Aquaphor) I’ll definitely use is saving me money in the long run.

I honestly feel like we’re seeing a curly hair revolution right now. I really love that there are so many products specifically for curly hair that actually WORK (cleansing conditioners, leave-in conditioners, dry shampoo, etc) and aren’t greasy or sticky. For so long, these products really weren’t around or were hard to find, and most manufacturers tended to leave it at shampoo, conditioner, and scrunching gel or mousse. And I can’t count the number of times someone has suggested I just give it up and straighten my hair.

So here we go…

Jane Carter Revitalizing Leave-In Conditioner

20150924_103311

I use a leave-in conditioner for two things: applying to wet hair after I wash to keep it soft and frizz free and to spritz on my hair on mornings I DON’T wash it to revive curls from the previous day. This works well enough for both of those things, and it smells great, but it’s lacked a “wow” factor to really sell me on the product and get me to buy this instead of my usual Dove or Pantene or Herbal Essences. (I like all three, so I usually just get whatever is on sale that week.)

That said, I have a leave-in spray that I’ll use, so I’m still making out okay with this box so far.

Curls Créme Brule Whipped Curl Cream

20150924_103044

Well, the name is fitting. It smells like a dessert. This appears to be another leave-in conditioner and styling cream combo. You’re supposed to add it to your hair after washing and then add a little more on the day(s) after to revive your curls. That’s simple enough for a product that normally sells for around $10.

It did leave my hair incredibly soft and my curls well-defined with no frizz. They’re not crunchy like you can get if you use a regular styling cream, so I appreciate that a lot. The second day was a bit rougher. To be fair, it was humid enough to drown, so any product would have been put to the test. Frizz was a problem, and adding more of the product didn’t help by much. I wonder if it would have been better had the weather cooperated. I’m not completely sold on it, but I’ll definitely keep trying it out for as long as this little bottle will last me.

Dove Quench Absolute Crème Serum

20150924_103250

I’m already in love with Dove’s products. I frequently use their dry shampoo, in particular, and unlike the other samples Target sent me, this was full size and covered the cost of the box all by itself. I’m excited to give their new Quench line a try.

This definitely does leave my hair feeling soft and wonderful, and it smells great, but I’m going to need to use a styling product with it, which leaves me less impressed than I was with the SheaMoisture and Curls products. Speaking of the SheaMoisture product…

SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Renewal Lotion

20150922_085533

I always want something that smells nice to go in my hair, and this stuff reminds me a lot of Bath & Body Works Warm Vanilla Sugar scent, so I love. $10 is a bit pricey for a styling product for me, but this seems to do double duty as a leave in conditioner and a styling cream. I tried it out on freshly washed hair, and my curls were still gorgeous and virtually frizz-free three days later with no need to add anything else to my hair.

This is quite possibly my favorite item in this box. I love Dove products, and I’m glad to have a full size of their leave in. I loved the Curls Creme Brulee. I liked the Jane Carter spray okay enough, but this… I have no words for how well it’s worked on my hair. I will definitely be getting this in the full size just as soon as I burn through all of my other leave-ins. It was quite the unexpected gem.

Aquaphor Healing Ointment

20150924_103424

I’m almost ashamed to admit that I’ve never tried Aquaphor before now, so I was very excited to get this. It’s supposed to have a million different uses, but I’m kinda wondering what the big difference is between this and petroleum jelly.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to try it out on myself, first. My daughter, as it turns out, is a bit OCD about her hand washing– which is great because she doesn’t get sick a lot, but it’s murder on her hands. They get very red and chapped sometimes, and they were red and chapped just as this came in. Since this is supposed to be a product designed specifically for the purpose of healing skin, I decided to give it a try on Mini Me’s hands, and it worked great. I ended up ordering a full size jar.

Colgate Optic White Platinum Express White Toothpaste

20150924_103349

This was really more of an add-on item (along with the Aquaphor) in an otherwise curly hair themed box. I’ve used the brand before, and I’ll use this. It’s toothpaste, after all. Who doesn’t use toothpaste? But I’ll also say that whitening toothpaste does almost nothing for me. To notice a real difference, I use whitening trays or strips. With toothpaste, I just require that it gets my teeth clean, and this does a good enough job. I just wouldn’t make a super special effort to get this one over the oodles of other toothpastes– even whitening toothpastes– that happen to be out there.

This turned out to be a great box overall. I got plenty of products that I’ll use, and I even found a new favorite. (My apologies to ladies with straight hair, but if my experience is any indication, there will be plenty of other boxes with volumizers and such in the near future.)

Here’s the part where I’d normally provide a link, but again… Target hasn’t yet made their box a subscription, but I do keep an eye on it, and I’ll try to put up a post with a link when it does go on sale.

