Fall 2015 Walmart Beauty Box

20150924_102231

Walmart’s beauty box is a seasonal item, and unlike Target’s version, you can subscribe to it. For a measly $5 every quarter, you get a box of samples and even (sometimes) full size items. Target’s box is usually better, but Walmart seems to be stepping up their game about with what they offer in their box. If I see anything in particular that interests me enough to do so, I’ll provide a more in-depth review later. Right now, I’ll just cover what’s in the box.

So here’s what I got for only $5:

Dove Advanced Care Antiperspirant 

20150924_102659

I don’t think there’s anything better than getting sent a product I already use. I prefer Dove’s Dry Spray formula, but I’ve used their solids in the past. Dove’s antiperspirants tend to leave my skin soft, and they don’t crumble up and get gross under my arm. This will be used by me. The travel size here is valued at around $2. I’m estimating because I can’t find this exact one online. The full size is listed on Walmart’s website at $6.68. This also came with a $1 off coupon.

Roc Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Serum

20150926_104019

Usually, Walmart will include at least one full size item, and this seems to be it this season. In the past, I’ve gotten lip colors and eye cream, all three of which I’ve used. This is priced at $15.98, so that’s not too shabby for a $5 box.

The only thing is that I’m 36 and don’t really have a lot of good wrinkles to test out this product’s claim on. I do have a few fine lines and a full size product, so I can definitely test it out over a couple of weeks. I might even pass it on to my mom and see if she likes it. So this might get a full review later.

Schick Hydro Silk Disposable Razor

20150926_104130

I love getting these for when I’m traveling. At home, I use the 4X from Dollar Shave Club, which uses Dorco’s razors, and I love it. But I like taking disposables with me when I’m traveling, so this will come in handy. This also came with two $4 coupons that expire at the end of January 2016, and I’ll probably use those, too. The full size (3 razors) is listed at $9.06, which puts the one I got at about a $3 value.

Crest 3D White Brilliance System
Nivea Extended Moisture 48-Hour Body Lotion

20150926_104116

These are the two foil packets I got with the box, and they’re so small that I’m not going to bother with putting a value on them, but I’m happy to give them a try and write about them if I’m wowed.

I noticed that Crest included this exact same sample in this season’s FabFitFun box as well, so it seems they’r really pushing this out. I’m looking forward to giving it a try. The price tag is definitely a lot easier than what Crest charges for whitestrips, so if I like it, I’ll probably pay the $12.96 for the full size, considering this also includes a $2 off coupon.

I’m considering getting the full size Nivea at $5.30 because I do have pretty dry skin during the cooler months, and the contents of little packet has no chance of covering my entire body. That’s the great thing about both Target’s and Walmart’s boxes. The products they feature are usually pretty affordable, so if I do want to give them a try, I don’t have to spend a fortune to do so.

ACT Advanced Care Plaque Guard Mouthwash 
John Frieda 7 Day Volume In-Shower Treatment
Curel Rough Skin Rescue Lotion

20150926_104148

These were the smaller samples that I’d place at around $1 each. They’re good for travel.

The ACT is priced at $6.48 for full size, the Curel at $5.39, and the John Frieda at $5.82. I probably won’t do any kind of review on these, but I like having a travel size lotion and mouthwash. I’ve used both brands before, and I’m okay with them, though they’re not my favorite gotta have brands.

The John Frieda is a nice illustration of why I appreciated the Target box this month so much. (Side note: I’m still working on my post about the Target box. I actually wanted to give those products a try since they’re all pretty relevant to my interests.)  I have dry, curly hair, and I have no use for volumizers, but I see a ton of these in subscription boxes, and quite a few of them get sent to me. This will probably be passed on to my mom.

All in all, I like the value of this season’s box. The Roc serum alone more than paid for the box. I’d place the value at somewhere around $20, not counting the coupons. If you’d like to try out Walmart’s beauty box, click here (not a referral link).

