Pumpkin Spice Season is BACK!!! Fall Treats Haul

I fully expect more goodness to hit the market between now and Christmas season, and I fully expect I’ll buy it. Some of these things are new, at least to me. Some are not. In either case, I just bought a basketful of treats on a recent shopping trip, and I’m excited to give them a try. So here’s a quick (for me) rundown on what I liked and what I didn’t.

I’ve already done one review of the Ghirardelli Squares Fall Assortment. You can find that here.

Russel Stover Pumpkin Spice Latte Candy Bar

20150906_214426

The candy bar is colored light orange and is breakable into squares. You’d expect based on the name for it to taste like a combo of pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and coffee. Nope. If any of those flavors were included, they were almost completely lost. It pretty much just tasted like a white chocolate candy bar to me– which is hard to do if there’s a coffee flavor involved.

Verdict: Skip it.

Kellogg’s Pop-Tarts in Pumpkin Pie

20150906_214536

I got these primarily for my kid, as I don’t really eat a lot of Pop-Tarts these days. She loves them, for the record. I decided to give them a go– for science, obviously. Out of the packaging, the pastries look exactly like the picture on the box. There are no surprises here. (Of course, if you’re not familiar with the size and shape of a Pop-Tart, then you’ve got bigger problems in life.) They certainly smell like pumpkin pie before you even bite into one. The filling definitely delivers a pumpkin pie flavor. The supersweet icing on top tends to overpower it almost as much as the heavy-handed spices, but it’s definitely a pumpkin pie flavor, and it’s not a terrible one. Bonus: Pumpkin pie for breakfast!

Verdict: Try it.

Fall Peeps

Unfortunately, Pumpkin Spice Peeps didn't make it home, either.
Unfortunately, Pumpkin Spice Peeps didn’t make it home, either.

These are the fudge-dipped peeps that I’ve been seeing the last couple of years, and I don’t think they’re new, but I could be wrong. There are three varieties that I’ve seen: Pumpkin Spice, Caramel Apple, and Candy Corn. I tried all three. The Pumpkin Spice actually did have a little bit of its namesake flavor, as did the caramel apple. It was very light, as you’d expect for a marshmallow. The Candy Corn just tasted like sugar and vanilla overload, which is guess is accurate enough for something that’s supposed to taste like candy corn.

Verdict: Try it.

Caramel Apple Twizzlers

20150906_231507

I remember liking these last year. When you open the package, you’re hit with the delicious scent of green apple and caramel. The tastes, however, isn’t as strong as I remember. The licorice portion of the snack has a bare hint of green apple, while the sugary soft filling definitely delivers on the caramel flavor. Eating them together, the filling overwhelms the licorice. I’d prefer a little more balance.

Verdict: Try it.

Hammond’s Caramel Apple Caramel & Pumpkin Spice Caramel Marshmallow

2015-09-07 15.12.39

The only place I find these is as Target, so I’m guessing it’s their brand. I enjoy the soft caramels whenever I find them. The caramel apple one only had a subtle apple flavor, but it was enough to push the point across. It was thoroughly enjoyable. The marshmallow was another story. The marshmallow itself was rubbery while the caramel outside crumbled and flaked away. The barely noticable pumpkin spice flavor didn’t make up for any of that.

Verdict: Try the caramel. Skip the marshmallow.

GoGo Squeez Apple Pumpkin Spice

2015-09-07 18.58.19

I love these little pouch fruits almost as much as my kid. So of course we got the pumpkin spice version. Problem is, it tastes no different from the regular applesauce with cinnamon flavor. That’s not a bad thing, necessarily. It’s still delicious. It’s just not really all that different.

Verdict: Skip it.

Caramel Apple Oreos

2015-09-07 18.59.15

Now, I know I had these last year, and I remember they were delicious. The outside cookie is the standard vanilla cookie you’ll get with many different varieties of Oreo cookies. If there’s a difference, I haven’t noticed one. The cream filling is where all the action is. Much like the Twizzlers, you smell these as soon as you open the packaging. It’s heavenly. The two sides really are two different flavors of cream. One is distinctly green apple and the other is distinctly caramel. By themselves they’re fine, but they come together perfectly.

Verdict: Try it.

Splendid Chocolates Milk Chocolate Pumpkin Spice Caramel Truffles

2015-09-07 19.00.05

I’m not going to add much here. These are almost identical to the Ghirardelli squares I had earlier this week. The chocolate is noticeably different, not as smooth as the Ghirardelli, but it’s chocolate. Nothing to complain about, really. The pumpkin spice is very noticeable mixed with the liquidy caramel center.

Verdict: Try it.

Hostess Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

2015-09-07 19.00.47

I’ve yet to meet a Hostess cupcake I didn’t like. These are no exception to that rule. While I wouldn’t note any pumpkin flavor, this was a nice cream-filled spice cake cupcake all on its own.

Verdict: Try it.

M&M’s Pumpkin Spice Latte

20150907_160835

Coffee and chocolate have always gone well together. One of my gripes about the regular pumpkin spice M&Ms was that I didn’t really notice the pumkin spice. The coffee in these not only stands out but also helps bring out the pumpkin spice flavors as well.

Verdict: Try it.

Perpperidge Farm Milano Cookies in Pumpkin Spice

2015-09-07 19.01.23

I rarely get the regular Milano cookies, but it’s mostly because I only buy them for myself as an occasional (four times a year TOPS) treat. A couple of them go great with chai latte. But this can qualify as one of those rare occasions. I have to hadn it to Pepperidge Farms. They nailed it by taking the same Milano goodness and simply adding a pumpkin spice layer of filling. It stood out nicely but wasn’t too much.

Verdict: Try it.

